Brooks Ghost 18: A Podiatrist’s Specification Analysis

Spec analysis — not yet tested

Nothing on this page has been measured by us. No caliper has touched this shoe, there is no score, and it has not earned the Podiatrist Tested seal. Every figure below is attributed to whoever published it — Brooks, a retailer, or an independent lab. When we buy and test a pair, this page is replaced by the full review. How we test.

The Ghost is the shoe podiatrists name out loud more often than any other neutral trainer, and the reasons are unglamorous and good: four widths, a removable insole, a stiff heel counter, and a price that has barely moved. The Ghost 18 keeps all of that. It also keeps the 10 mm heel-to-toe drop printed on the box — and an independent lab that cut a pair in half measured 12.2 mm. That matters more than a usual spec-sheet rounding error would, because two versions ago Brooks changed this shoe’s drop from 12 mm to 10 mm on purpose, and told everyone it did so to benefit “heel-strikers and those with Achilles-related concerns”. On the caliper, the 18 is back where the 16 was.

Chart showing where the Brooks Ghost 18 sits among the 43 shoes on file for heel stack, forefoot stack, heel-to-toe drop and published weight
Where this pair sits in our spec library of 43 shoes. Published figures only — the brand’s where it states one, otherwise a named retailer, reviewer or lab, credited in the table below. None of them is our own measurement.

What Brooks says the Ghost 18 is

Brooks positions the Ghost 18 as its neutral daily trainer — the default, high-mileage, no-surprises shoe in the line. The midsole is DNA LOFT v3, nitrogen-infused and softer than the v2 it replaced across the range. The upper is new for this version. The insole lifts out. And, unusually for 2026, Brooks still makes it in four widths: Narrow, Normal, Wide and X-Wide.

Brooks publishes a 10 mm drop and weights of 10.2 oz (289 g) for men and 9.2 oz (260 g) for women, without saying what size it weighed. It publishes no stack height for this or any other Brooks model, so every stack figure on this page comes from a lab, a retailer or a reviewer, not from Brooks.

Brooks Ghost 18 specifications: heel-to-toe drop, stack height and weight

Read on 9 September 2026. Prices move; check the retailer.

SpecificationFigureSource
CategoryNeutral cushioned daily trainer, roadBrooks
List price$149.95Brooks
Heel stack heightNot published by BrooksBrooks publishes no stack height on any locale
Forefoot stack heightNot published by BrooksBrooks publishes no stack height on any locale
Heel-to-toe drop10 mmBrooks
Weight, men’s10.2 oz / 289.2 g — size not stated by BrooksBrooks (UK site)
Weight, women’s9.2 oz / 260.8 g — size not stated by BrooksBrooks (UK site)
MidsoleDNA LOFT v3, nitrogen-infusedBrooks
InsoleRemovableBrooks
WidthsNarrow, Normal, Wide, X-WideBrooks
PredecessorGhost 17, now discontinued at major retailersBrooks / REI
Insole thickness5.0 mmRunRepeat, laboratory
Toe box, at the big toe70.6 mmRunRepeat, laboratory
Heel-counter stiffness5 of 5RunRepeat, laboratory
Forefoot flexibility12.3 N to bendRunRepeat, laboratory
Torsional rigidity12.2 NmRunRepeat, laboratory
Internal toe-box depthNot published by anyone—
Orthotic Volume RatingNot yet measured by us—

The drop is the story: 10 mm on the box, 12.2 mm on the caliper

RunRepeat cuts shoes in half and measures the halves. Here is what they found in the Ghost 18, and — this is the part that makes it credible — what the same lab found in the Ghost 17 using the same method.

FigureGhost 17, publishedGhost 17, labGhost 18, publishedGhost 18, lab
Heel stack36.5 mm36.2 mm36 mm37.3 mm
Forefoot stack26.5 mm25.8 mm26 mm25.1 mm
Heel-to-toe drop10 mm10.4 mm10 mm12.2 mm

The Ghost 17 hit its number. Claimed 10, measured 10.4 — that is as close as caliper work on a production shoe gets, and it is the control that makes the next line worth reading. The Ghost 18 claims the same 10 mm and measures 12.2. The gap opens from both ends at once: the heel grew about a millimetre against the 17 while the forefoot lost about seven tenths.

Two versions ago Brooks moved this shoe from 12 mm to 10 mm and described it as a significant structural change to benefit “heel-strikers and those with Achilles-related concerns”. If the caliper is right, the 18 has quietly given that back while keeping the 10 mm on the label.

There is a second, independent signal pointing the same way. Doctors of Running, who ran in the shoe rather than sectioning it, described the Ghost 18 as “a classic feeling high drop ratio neutral trainer”. That is what a 12 mm shoe feels like underfoot. It is not what 10 mm feels like.

Figures attributed to RunRepeat are RunRepeat’s measurements of single pairs, not ours, and we have not verified them. One pair is one pair, and production varies. What raises this above ordinary spec-sheet noise is that the same lab, measuring the previous version the same way, returned a figure that agreed with Brooks — so the disagreement is not an artefact of the method. Read it as a question worth answering, which is exactly how we have written it.

Why 2 mm of drop is a clinical number, not a trivia number

Most of the time, two millimetres of drop is nothing and anyone telling you otherwise is selling something. It stops being nothing when the drop is the reason you chose the shoe.

Raising the heel relative to the forefoot shortens the demand on the calf and Achilles through the stance phase. That is why a higher drop is often the comfortable choice in Achilles tendinopathy, in a tight gastrocnemius, and in the early weeks after a calf strain — and why coming down in drop too quickly is a classic way to make an Achilles angry. It cuts the other way too: if a clinician has you deliberately working at a lower drop to load the tendon, a shoe that is 2.2 mm higher than advertised is quietly undoing the plan.

So the honest reading is not “Brooks got it wrong, avoid this shoe”. For a great many people a 12 mm-ish Ghost is a better shoe than a 10 mm one, and they will never know or care about the difference. The reading is: if drop is why you picked it, you cannot take the number on faith. Nobody in this transaction has measured your actual shoe, us included.

It is also worth saying that published stack heights are, industry-wide, design-target figures taken from a drawing rather than measurements of a production pair, and brands very rarely re-measure. Brooks is not unusual here. It is only unusual in that its previous version’s figure held up, which makes this one conspicuous.

The four widths are the underrated part

Narrow, Normal, Wide and X-Wide. Four widths on a $150 mainstream trainer, in 2026, when most brands offer one and call a roomier toe box a feature.

This is the single biggest reason the Ghost keeps getting written on prescription pads. A bunion, a tailor’s bunion, a hammertoe with a dorsal corn, a foot that swells through the day, a foot carrying a rigid custom orthotic — all of these are width and volume problems before they are cushioning problems, and a shoe that only comes in one width cannot solve any of them. The Narrow end matters too and is almost never discussed: a slim foot swimming in a standard trainer gets heel slip and clawing toes, and no amount of lacing fixes a last that is too wide.

Two caveats from people who have worn it, neither of them ours. RunRepeat measured the toe box at 70.6 mm at its widest point in the standard width — very close to the 17’s 69.6 mm, so nothing has opened up. And Doctors of Running found forefoot and midfoot volume “on the lower end” and the shoe running slightly short. Width is not depth: a wide last with a shallow toe box still catches a hammertoe on the upper. Depth is the measurement we take and neither Brooks nor anyone else publishes it.

What the spec sheet suggests — and what only a test can answer

The heel counter is stiff, and that is a real clinical fork. The lab scored it 5 of 5, the same as the 17. A rigid heel counter is what you want when the goal is to control a mobile rearfoot — posterior tibial tendon dysfunction, a collapsing arch, a plantar fascia that hurts most on the first steps of the morning. It is what you do not want pressing on an inflamed retrocalcaneal bursa or a Haglund’s prominence, where a firm counter is the thing that hurts. Same feature, opposite verdicts, decided by which foot is in the shoe.

The insole comes out, and 5 mm of it. That is the number that matters for orthotic users: it is the volume you recover when the stock insole is replaced by a device. Whether the shoe then has the depth to close over a posted orthotic without pressure on the dorsum is a different question, and it is one we answer with an Orthotic Volume Rating from a physical pair. This page does not have one.

The forefoot got stiffer. 12.3 N to bend against the 17’s 10.9 N in the same test. A stiffer forefoot asks less of the big toe joint at push-off, which can be welcome in hallux rigidus and unwelcome if you want a shoe that moves with your foot. Torsional rigidity is effectively unchanged, 12.2 against 12.6 Nm.

Nobody publishes the number that decides fit. Internal toe-box depth, and internal width at the fifth metatarsal head, are where a bunion or a bunionette actually complains. No brand publishes either. That is the gap this site exists to close, and it is not closed here yet.

On the published figures: who this is worth trying, and who should wait

Reasoning from figures other people published. Not a recommendation, and not a substitute for being fitted.

On the published figures, worth a look if…
  • Your feet need a width, either direction. Four of them, from Narrow to X-Wide, on a mainstream trainer.
  • You wear an orthotic. The insole lifts out and a lab measured 5 mm of it.
  • A tight calf or a grumbling Achilles. If the lab is right, this shoe is friendlier to it than the label suggests.
  • You want the boring, durable option. That is what the Ghost has always been, and the 18 has not tried to be clever.
Wait for the test if…
  • You were told to come down in drop. The label says 10 mm; a lab says 12.2. Verify before you commit.
  • A Haglund’s deformity or bursitis at the back of the heel. The heel counter scored 5 of 5 for stiffness.
  • You need depth, not just width. Reviewers describe forefoot volume as low, and nobody publishes depth.
  • You liked the Ghost 17 for its ride. Same DNA LOFT v3 foam and the same stated drop, but a new upper and a measurably stiffer forefoot.
Cross-shopping New Balance? The 1080v15 is 28 g lighter and 4 mm flatter, but nobody has measured it and New Balance does not say whether the insole lifts out. Brooks vs New Balance, on the published specs →

Where to buy

Paid links. If you buy through them this site earns a commission, at no cost to you, and it makes no difference to what is written above — we have not tested this shoe and are not recommending it. Amazon listings for Brooks are colourway- and width-specific, and we have not verified one, so the button opens one listing, which may not be your width. Check the width code before you buy.

Check the Ghost 18 on Amazon (men’s) — paid linkPaid link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

If you need Narrow or X-Wide, Brooks’ own site and a specialist running retailer carry the full width range more reliably than a marketplace listing does.

Watch: Flat Feet? Here’s How to Pick the Right Running ShoesChoosing a daily trainer around your own foot shape rather than the shoe the shop wants to sell you.Michigan Foot Doctors · general education, not a diagnosis · editorial policy

Questions people ask about the Ghost 18

Do podiatrists recommend the Brooks Ghost?

Yes, more than almost any other neutral trainer, and the reasons are boring in the best way: four widths, a removable insole that makes room for an orthotic, a firm heel counter, and a shoe that behaves the same in month six as it did on day one. None of that is exciting and all of it is what actually gets someone through a working day without heel pain. The Ghost 18 keeps every one of those features. The one thing to hold lightly is the number on the box — Brooks publishes a 10 mm drop and an independent lab measured 12.2 mm, which is a difference worth confirming if a clinician sent you looking for a specific drop. Podiatrist Tested has not worn or measured this pair, so it carries no score and no seal from us.

What is the difference between the Ghost 17 and the Ghost 18?

Brooks describes the 18 as a refinement rather than a redesign: a new flat-knit tongue, an engineered air mesh upper and an OrthoLite X-60 sockliner, on the same nitrogen-infused DNA LOFT v3 foam as the 17 and with the same stated 10 mm drop. Brooks publishes no stack height for either shoe. In the lab the picture is less settled: the 17 measured 36.2/25.8 mm for a 10.4 mm drop, close to its claim, while the 18 measured 37.3/25.1 mm for a 12.2 mm drop. The 18’s forefoot also tested stiffer, 12.3 N against 10.9 N. If you liked the 17 specifically for how it rolled through the forefoot, that is the change to try on rather than assume. The 17 is discontinued at major retailers, so it is now a discount buy rather than an alternative you can count on restocking.

Does the Brooks Ghost 18 come in wide widths?

Yes — Narrow, Normal, Wide and X-Wide, which is the widest range on any shoe currently covered on this site. That range, more than the foam, is why the Ghost gets named in clinic. Be aware that width is not depth: a lab measured the standard width’s toe box at 70.6 mm at its widest point, barely changed from the 17, and reviewers describe forefoot volume as being on the low side. If your problem is a hammertoe rubbing on the top of the shoe rather than a bunion pressing out the side, a wider last may not solve it.

Is the Brooks Ghost 18 good for plantar fasciitis?

It has the features people reach for — a stiff heel counter, a removable insole so a device with a real heel cup can go in, and enough heel stack to take some sting out of the first steps of the morning. It is also worth knowing that the evidence for footwear in plantar fasciitis is weaker than the marketing implies: the 2023 clinical practice guideline revision downgraded orthoses from a grade A recommendation to grade B against use as an isolated treatment, and contains no grade A or B footwear recommendation at all. What does carry grade A is calf and plantar fascia stretching. A shoe is a reasonable part of a plan and a poor substitute for one. We have not measured this pair, so we are not scoring it for anything.

Will an orthotic fit in the Ghost 18?

Very likely — the insole is removable and a lab measured it at 5.0 mm, so there is real volume to recover, and the Ghost has a long history of accepting devices. “Very likely” is where a spec sheet stops. Whether the shoe closes comfortably over a posted orthotic, and whether the device’s arch fights the shoe’s own contour, are things we rate with an Orthotic Volume Rating taken from a physical pair. This shoe does not have one yet. If you are choosing sight-unseen and you wear a bulky device, order the Wide and take your orthotic to the fitting.

What happens next

This page exists so there is an honest, clearly labelled entry for the Ghost 18 rather than a fabricated review of a shoe nobody here has worn. When a pair is bought at retail it gets weighed at men’s US 10, the heel and forefoot stack get measured with calipers, the internal toe box gets measured for width and depth, the heel counter gets squeezed and the shoe gets twisted, an Orthotic Volume Rating is assigned, and it goes on the road for logged miles. Then this page is replaced by the full review, with a score, and either a seal or a public statement of which criterion it failed.

The drop is first on the list. Two independent readings now disagree with the label in the same direction, and one of them is a runner’s perception rather than a caliper. If our own measurement lands near 12 mm, that is worth publishing loudly, and it is exactly the kind of thing this site was built to settle.

Related reading: Brooks Ghost 17, the version this replaces and the one whose published drop held up in the lab; Brooks Ghost Max 4, the higher-stack, rockered sibling; and Skechers Aero Burst, the other shoe on this site whose published drop an independent lab has contradicted — in the opposite direction.

Page type: spec analysis, not yet tested · Acquisition: not yet purchased · Manufacturer figures from Brooks · Laboratory figures from RunRepeat, whose measurements are their own · Wear observations attributed to Doctors of Running · Last verified: 9 September 2026 · Written by Dr. Tom Biernacki, DPM, FACFAS, NPI 1821330051.

A note on where these figures come from. Brooks publishes the drop and weight for this shoe on its UK site only—the US product pages carry the price and no numbers at all—and it publishes no stack heights on any locale, for this or any other Brooks model. It also states no sample size for its weights. Any heel or forefoot stack figure you see quoted for the Ghost 18 is a retailer’s or a reviewer’s own measurement. We verified this directly against Brooks’ own pages on 9 September 2026 and corrected this table accordingly: two stack rows previously credited to Brooks, and two weights carrying sample sizes Brooks does not state, have been amended. We would rather leave a row empty than let somebody else’s caliper read as a manufacturer specification.

The APMA seal, which Brooks does not mention. The Ghost 18 is listed in the American Podiatric Medical Association’s own seal database with the Seal of Acceptance. Brooks makes no APMA claim on the product page. That is the same pattern as the Ghost 17, and the reverse of the Ghost Max 4, which is widely described as podiatrist-approved and is not in the database. Brooks’ own APMA blog post names no version numbers and still lists long-superseded models, which is the likely cause. Note what the seal is: APMA states it is not a testing laboratory and evaluates products companies submit to it—a reviewed submission, not a trial.

Guides on this site that weigh the Brooks Ghost 18 against the problem you are actually trying to solve:

Browse every shoe on file or read how we test.

Compare it with the rest: every Brooks review · the shoes for achilles tendinitis · everything for running · the extra-wide fittings · the narrow fittings · the wide fittings. Every list shows the published drop, stack, weight, widths and price side by side.

Citing this analysis

This page is a spec analysis, not a test report: the figures are the manufacturer’s or a named third party’s, each printed beside its source, and nothing here carries a score or the Seal until the shoe has been worn and measured on our bench. Quote any figure you like — keep the source attached to it, and link the page rather than the number. How to cite or link to an analysis.