Podiatrist Tested

Is the Brooks Ghost Max 4 Good for Plantar Fasciitis?

A podiatrist reads the Ghost Max 4's published design against what the 2023 clinical guideline actually says about footwear — including the rocker evidence, and an APMA seal correction.

By Tom Biernacki, DPM, FACFASDouble board-certified foot & ankle surgeonUpdated 8 Sep 2026

Spec analysis — not yet tested · Published September 2026

Spec analysis — not yet tested. This shoe has not been through the Podiatrist Tested bench. Every figure below is the manufacturer’s own published number, attributed by name; the reasoning is clinical judgement about the published design, not our measurement. No score, no seal. How we test →

The Brooks Ghost Max 4 is the shoe people are pointed at when they walk into a running shop and say the words “heel pain.” It is tall, soft, and built around a rocker. On paper it looks like it was designed for exactly this problem. The honest answer is more interesting than either “yes, buy it” or “no, it is marketing” — and it turns on a piece of evidence about rocker soles that almost nobody quotes.

Two corrections before anything else, because both are circulating as fact and both are wrong.

The Ghost Max 4 does not hold the APMA Seal of Acceptance. The Ghost Max 2 and the Ghost Max 3 do. We checked the American Podiatric Medical Association’s own seal database directly, and the Ghost Max 4 is not in it; the Ghost Max 4 product page carries no seal badge either. The claim spreads because Brooks’ own blog lists “Ghost MAX” without a version number — and that post is stale enough that it also still lists the long-superseded Adrenaline GTS 23. Buy this shoe for its geometry if you want it. Do not buy it for a seal it does not have.

Brooks does not publish a stack height for it. Neither does any other mainstream running brand on its US product pages. If you see a confident heel and forefoot stack figure for this shoe, it came from a retailer or from someone’s own calipers, not from Brooks. We say which below.

Read this before you buy anything

The evidence for arch support and heel cushioning was downgraded in 2023

The current clinical practice guideline for this condition is Heel Pain — Plantar Fasciitis: Revision 2023, published in the Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy by the Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy and the American Academy of Sports Physical Therapy. We read the guideline itself rather than a summary of it, and this is what changed.

The 2014 version said, at grade A (strong evidence): “Clinicians should use foot orthoses, either prefabricated or custom fabricated/fitted, to support the medial longitudinal arch and cushion the heel…”

The 2023 revision replaced that with two weaker statements:

  • Grade B“Clinicians should not use orthoses, either prefabricated or custom fabricated/fitted, as an isolated treatment for short-term pain relief in individuals with plantar fasciitis.”
  • Grade C“Clinicians may use orthoses… when combined with other treatments…”

Footwear itself appears in that guideline exactly twice, and both times at its weakest grades: under the grade C orthoses heading, as “an over-the-counter heel cushion, footwear modification that provide heel cushioning, especially in individuals with decrease shock absorption capacity”; and under patient education at grade E — theoretical or foundational evidence — as “footwear options to mitigate commonly occurring weight loading stresses.”

There is no grade A or grade B footwear recommendation in the guideline. What does carry grade A: plantar-fascia-specific and calf stretching, manual therapy, taping as an adjunct, and night splints for people who consistently have first-step morning pain.

So the honest framing for every page like this one, ours included: a shoe is a comfort and symptom-management variable. It is not the treatment. Anyone telling you a particular shoe cures plantar fasciitis is claiming more than the evidence supports.

Two facts that should change how you read every shoe review

First: it is not an inflammation. Despite the name, the histology shows myxoid degeneration, collagen disarray, micro-tears and granulation tissue, with a notable absence of the classic inflammatory picture. Clinicians increasingly call it plantar fasciopathy for that reason. This matters commercially, because it means any product sold to you on the promise of “reducing inflammation” in your heel is aimed at a mechanism that is largely not there.

Second: roughly three quarters of cases resolve on their own within twelve months. That single fact quietly destroys most of the shoe testimonials you will read. If someone buys a shoe, and their heel pain improves over the following months, the most likely explanation is the natural history of the condition rather than the shoe. Uncontrolled before-and-after stories — including glowing ones about the shoe on this page — carry almost no information. It is also why we are not going to show you any.

The rocker question, which is the whole point of this shoe

Brooks describes the Ghost Max 4 in its own words as having “a low offset combined with a GlideRoll™ Rocker” that “actively assists heel-to-toe transitions to help your movements feel effortless.” It classes the shoe as max support — “assisted transition from landing to toe-off and added cushion underfoot” — and notes that “a broad base provides inherent stability, and the roomy fit accommodates orthotics and varied foot shapes and sizes.”

A rocker sole rolls you through the step instead of asking your foot to bend and push. The intuition is that less bending at the toes means less tension in the plantar fascia, because toe extension is what winds the fascia tight — the windlass mechanism. It is a good intuition. It has been tested, and it did not come out the way you would expect.

The study nobody quotes

Rocker shoes did not significantly reduce plantar fascia strain

Greve and colleagues (PLOS ONE, 2019) measured plantar aponeurosis strain in eight patients with plantar fasciitis and eight healthy controls across four conditions — flexible versus stiff insole, crossed with a normal rocker apex at 61 per cent of shoe length versus a more rearward apex at 56 per cent.

Plantar aponeurosis strain showed no significant difference between shoe conditions (p = .089). The rocker did do things: peak Achilles tendon force fell with the rearward apex plus a stiff insole, and peak big-toe joint angles fell with stiff insoles. But the strain in the tissue that actually hurts did not significantly change. The authors explain why: the apex position and the insole stiffness act at different phases of the step, so their effects never stack into a single peak reduction.

Two things to hold at once. Sixteen people is a small study and p = .089 is a null result in an underpowered sample, not proof that rockers do nothing. And separately, a systematic review did find significant pain reduction from rocker-soled shoes — but in combination with customised insoles, not on their own. The defensible position is that a rocker is not a reliable lever on fascial strain by itself, and where it has shown clinical benefit it has had help.

Then there is the offset. Brooks itself describes the Ghost Max 4 as having a low offset, and publishes it at 6 mm. Set that against the one direct footwear study in patients with heel pain, where the shoe that reduced peak heel pressure by about 15 per cent was the 14 mm pitch shoe, not the 4 mm one. The Ghost Max 4 sits nearer the end of that range that performed worse on that particular measure. That is one immediate-effect study and should not be over-read — but it does cut against the assumption that this shoe’s geometry is automatically the right one for a sore heel.

What has actually been measured about shoes

Very little, and it is worth knowing exactly how little.

  • One direct footwear-design study in patients. Franettovich Smith and colleagues (Journal of Foot and Ankle Research, 2025) tested 29 women with plantar heel pain in a shoe with a 14 mm heel-to-toe pitch against one with a 4 mm pitch. The higher-pitch shoe reduced peak heel pressure by about 15 per cent. Five different insoles inside the test shoe produced no significant differences between them. Read the limitation carefully: this measured immediate pressure, not pain over time. It shows a shoe can change what your heel feels. It does not show that changing that changes the condition.
  • One randomised trial that went the other way. Reinstein and colleagues (Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine, 2024) randomised 52 people with persistent plantar heel pain to four weeks of treadmill walking either barefoot or in comfortable sports shoes. Both groups improved. The barefoot group improved more — morning pain fell 5.1 cm on a visual analogue scale versus 2.9 cm shod, with a larger gain in physical function. This is an inconvenient result for the entire supportive-shoe category and we are not going to pretend it does not exist. It was treadmill walking under supervision, not a recommendation to throw your shoes away.
  • Combination, not shoe alone. A systematic review of mechanical treatments found that rocker-soled shoes produced significant pain reduction when combined with customised insoles. The benefit attaches to the combination. No trial has shown a retail shoe on its own treating this condition.

What Brooks actually publishes

Specification Men’s Women’s
Midsole drop 6 mm 6 mm
Weight 10.3 oz / 292.0 g
size not stated by Brooks
9.2 oz / 260.8 g
size not stated by Brooks
Heel stack Not published by Brooks
Forefoot stack Not published by Brooks
Widths Medium 1D, Wide 2E, Extra Wide 4E Medium 1B, Wide 1D, Extra Wide 2E
Midsole foam DNA LOFT v3
MSRP $165.00 $165.00
APMA Seal No — not listed in APMA’s database (the Ghost Max 2 and 3 are)
Brooks’ own published figures. Brooks states no sample size for either weight, and publishes nothing at all about the heel counter or heel geometry — the rocker is its only geometry claim.

Brooks describes no change from the Ghost Max 3 in words. Its own published figures for the two models do differ: the Ghost Max 3 was listed at 11.2 oz men’s against the Max 4’s 10.3 oz, at the same 6 mm drop and the same DNA LOFT v3 foam, with the price moving from $160 to $165. The Ghost Max 3 is discontinued.

So who is this shoe actually for

A reasonable pick if…

  • You need a genuine 4E. This is the strongest single argument for the Ghost Max 4. Extra-wide availability in a heavily rockered, high-stack shoe is rare, and a foot that does not fit a shoe will not be comfortable in it whatever the geometry does.
  • You are going to use an orthotic in it. Brooks says the fit accommodates orthotics, and the guideline’s grade C statement is specifically about orthoses combined with other treatment — which is also the condition under which rocker shoes have shown benefit.
  • You are on your feet all day on hard floors and want the step to require less work from your calf and foot. The Achilles force reduction in the Greve study was real even though the fascial strain change was not.

Look elsewhere if…

  • You are buying it because you read it is podiatrist-approved. It does not hold the APMA seal. That is not a knock on the shoe, but it is not a reason to choose it.
  • You want a higher heel-to-toe drop. At 6 mm this is at the lower end, and the one direct study in heel-pain patients favoured the higher-pitch shoe on peak heel pressure.
  • Your balance is not good. Rocker soles carry a documented balance cost — they reduce ankle work but have been found destabilising in perturbed standing, more so in older adults. Worth walking indoors in them first.
  • You expect it to fix the problem. Nothing in the guideline supports that, for this or any shoe.

Check price on Amazon (paid link)Amazon affiliate link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

If the rocker is what appeals to you, our page on shoes for a plantar plate tear goes considerably deeper on rocker geometry — including where the apex should sit and why that placement matters more than how curved the sole looks. Our full Brooks Ghost Max 4 spec analysis covers the shoe outside this one condition.

What actually carries the strongest evidence

If you only act on one section of this page, make it this one. These are the grade A recommendations from the 2023 guideline — the interventions with a preponderance of high-quality evidence behind them:

  • Plantar-fascia-specific stretching, plus calf stretching. In DiGiovanni’s two-year follow-up, 94 per cent of patients reported pain reduced or eliminated and none went on to surgery. Note honestly that everyone in that trial also received a prefabricated insole and a short course of anti-inflammatory medication, so it is not a clean test of stretching alone.
  • Manual therapy directed at the joints and soft tissue of the lower limb, with emphasis on improving ankle dorsiflexion.
  • Taping, rigid or elastic, in conjunction with other treatment, for short-term relief.
  • Night splints for one to three months, specifically for people who consistently have pain with the first steps in the morning. Worth flagging a disagreement here: the guideline grades this A, but American Family Physician called the role of night splints “inconclusive” and an umbrella review found no difference against orthoses. We are giving you the guideline grade and the dissent.

There is also a mechanical reason the calf keeps appearing. In a study of rocker shoes, changes in Achilles tendon force accounted for about 65 per cent of total plantar fascia strain. The calf drives the load on your heel far more than most footwear marketing acknowledges — which is part of why stretching outranks shoes in the evidence.

When it is not plantar fasciitis

Do not buy a shoe for these — get assessed. Heel pain that is not worst on the first steps of the day; pain that does not ease as you warm up; night pain or pain at rest; a sudden pop or an inability to put weight through the foot (fascial rupture, and a recognised complication of steroid injection); focal bony tenderness, especially after a recent jump in impact loading (calcaneal stress fracture); burning, tingling, numbness or radiating pain (nerve entrapment, including Baxter’s nerve and tarsal tunnel — the guideline’s own diagnostic criteria require negative tarsal tunnel tests before calling it plantar fasciitis); heel pain in both feet alongside morning stiffness elsewhere or inflammatory back and joint symptoms (spondyloarthritis); or no improvement at three months despite proper treatment, which is the point at which imaging is generally considered. The guideline also asks clinicians to look for fat-pad atrophy and proximal plantar fibroma when a case is atypical or is not resolving.

Common questions

Is the Ghost Max 4 podiatrist-approved?

Not in the sense that phrase usually means. It does not hold the APMA Seal of Acceptance — we checked APMA’s own database. Individual podiatrists recommend all sorts of shoes, but there is no formal acceptance behind this model.

Is the Ghost Max 4 or the Ghost 17 better for heel pain?

They are different shapes rather than better and worse. The Ghost Max 4 is a 6 mm rocker with a 4E option; the Ghost 17 is a 10 mm neutral trainer with no rocker claim that does hold the APMA seal. If the higher drop appeals, see our page on the Brooks Ghost 17 for plantar fasciitis.

What about the stack height everyone quotes?

Brooks does not publish one. Figures you see come from retailers measuring or reporting independently, and named retailers do not always agree with each other. We would rather tell you it is unpublished.

Should I use an insole in it?

Possibly, and the evidence is oddly specific about this. The guideline says orthoses should not be used as an isolated treatment but may be used combined with other treatment. And the one study that tested five different insoles inside the same shoe found no significant difference between them — which suggests the shoe matters more than which insert you put in it.

How long before I know if it is helping?

Judge comfort within days — that is what a shoe changes. Do not judge the condition on that timescale. Around three quarters of cases settle within a year regardless, so improvement over months tells you very little about the shoe.

Sources

  • Koc TA Jr, et al. Heel Pain — Plantar Fasciitis: Revision 2023. Clinical Practice Guidelines linked to the ICF, Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy and American Academy of Sports Physical Therapy, APTA. J Orthop Sports Phys Ther. 2023;53(12):CPG1–CPG39. — the 2014 grade A orthoses recommendation and its 2023 replacement by the grade B “should not use… as an isolated treatment” and grade C “may use… combined” statements; the grade C heel-cushioning footwear-modification bullet; the grade E patient-education footwear line; grade A status for stretching, manual therapy, taping and night splints. Read at source.
  • Plantar Fasciitis. StatPearls (NBK431073). — degenerative rather than inflammatory histology; first-step morning pain; approximately 75% resolve within 12 months; differential diagnosis.
  • Plantar Fasciitis (heel pain) review. American Family Physician, 2019. — “fasciopathy” framing; SORT ratings; differential table; three-month imaging threshold; night-splint dissent.
  • Franettovich Smith MM, et al. Immediate Effects of Footwear Design on In-Shoe Plantar Pressures, Impact Forces and Comfort in Women With Plantar Heel Pain. J Foot Ankle Res. 2025;18(2):e70055. — 29 women; 14 mm vs 4 mm pitch; ~15% heel peak pressure reduction; no differences between five insoles; immediate effects only.
  • Reinstein M, Weisman A, Masharawi Y. Barefoot walking is beneficial for individuals with persistent plantar heel pain: a single-blind randomized controlled trial. Ann Phys Rehabil Med. 2024;67:101786. — n=52; morning pain VAS improvement 5.1 cm barefoot vs 2.9 cm shod.
  • Greve C, et al. Biomechanical effects of rocker shoes on plantar aponeurosis strain in patients with plantar fasciitis and healthy controls. PLOS ONE. 2019;14(10):e0222388. — no significant reduction in plantar aponeurosis strain between shoe conditions (p = .089, n = 16); Achilles tendon force accounted for 65 ± 2% of total strain.
  • Effectiveness of Mechanical Treatment for Plantar Fasciitis: A Systematic Review. J Sport Rehabil. 2020;29(5). — 43 studies; rocker-soled shoes with customised insoles produced significant pain reduction; prefabricated and custom insoles comparable.
  • DiGiovanni BF, et al. Plantar fascia-specific stretching exercise improves outcomes in patients with chronic plantar fasciitis: two-year follow-up. J Bone Joint Surg Am. 2006;88-A(8):1775–1781. — 94% pain reduced or eliminated at two years; no surgery; note both arms also received prefabricated insoles.
  • Rasenberg N, et al. Efficacy of foot orthoses for the treatment of plantar heel pain: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Br J Sports Med. 2018;52(16):1040–1046. — no difference between prefabricated and custom orthoses on short-term pain.
  • American Podiatric Medical Association Seal of Acceptance database, apma.org. — checked directly for every seal claim on this page.
  • Brooks Running product pages for the Ghost Max 4 (men’s 110496, women’s 120485) and Ghost Max 3, brooksrunning.com, September 2026. — drop, weights, widths, foam, MSRP, GlideRoll Rocker and support wording; absence of stack heights and of any APMA badge.

Page type: spec analysis — not yet tested · This shoe has not been measured on our bench · All figures manufacturer-published and attributed; retailer figures labelled as such · Last verified September 2026 · Reviewed by Dr. Thomas Biernacki, DPM

Measured, not guessed

Reviews for Plantar Fasciitis

Individual shoe pages state their evidence tier, published measurements and who should skip them.

Dansko

Dansko XP 2.0

Spec Analysis

Occupational clog with a removable dual-density footbed and slip-resistant outsole — not yet tested.

$165Not scoredRegular and Wide by style
Orthofeet

Orthofeet Coral

Spec Analysis

Extra depth, published quarter-inch removable insole, four widths A–2E, 15.7 mm drop — not yet tested.

$119Not scoredW: A/B/D/2E
Skechers

Skechers GO WALK Arch Fit 2.0

Spec Analysis

Removable Arch Fit insole, hands-free entry, APMA Seal on some styles — not yet tested.

Not scoredStandard and Wide by style; X-Wide…

All Plantar Fasciitis shoes

Measured, worn, scored — never sponsored

No brand has ever paid for a review, a score, a ranking or the seal. Where we earn a commission the link says so, and the score does not change.