We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, including Amazon links paid by brand partners through Levanta, at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money

On Cloudmonster 3 — Spec Analysis (Not Yet Tested)

Spec analysis — not yet tested

What this page is. A podiatrist’s reading of the manufacturer’s published specifications for the On Cloudmonster 3. Nothing on this page has been measured, worn or scored by us yet. There is no score and no seal here on purpose: under our standard, a number only appears once a pair has been on the bench and on the road. When this shoe is tested, this page is replaced by the full review and the change is logged.

The Cloudmonster is On’s biggest cushioned shoe and the one patients ask about after seeing it on everyone at the airport. The 3 launched in March 2026 with a firmer, more rockered ride than the 2. On publishes almost no numbers, so most of this page’s figures come from a named reviewer — read the source column. Here is what a foot and ankle surgeon makes of it.

Chart showing where the On Cloudmonster 3 sits among the 43 shoes on file for heel stack, forefoot stack, heel-to-toe drop and published weight
Where this pair sits in our spec library of 43 shoes. Published figures only — the brand’s where it states one, otherwise a named retailer, reviewer or lab, credited in the table below. None of them is our own measurement.

What On says the Cloudmonster 3 is

On describes the Cloudmonster 3 as its maximum-cushion daily trainer, built on a “triple-layer CloudTec® cushioning system” of dual-density “Helion™ foam” with On’s “Speedboard®” plate for propulsion, under a polyester-mesh upper with a gusseted, padded tongue. On’s press release for the March 5, 2026 launch positions the 3 as bringing back “the rocker and responsiveness” of the original. On does not publish weight, stack or drop on its product page. It is sold at $190; a wide (2E) version exists for men only.

Watch: Do Maximalist Running Shoes Offer The Best Arch Support?Big-stack cushioning and what it does for arch support.Michigan Foot Doctors · general education, not a diagnosis · editorial policy

On Cloudmonster 3 specifications: heel-to-toe drop, stack height and weight

Source column tells you where each figure comes from. “On” means the brand’s own US product page. A retailer name means the brand does not publish that figure and a retailer does. “Not published” means nobody reliable does — those are the figures our bench measures first.

SpecificationFigureSource
CategoryMaximum cushion, neutral daily trainerOn
Cushioning / plateTriple-layer CloudTec®, dual-density Helion™ foam, Speedboard®On
Weight, men's295 g (10.4 oz), size not statedOn (published)
Weight, women's240 g (8.5 oz), size not statedOn (published)
Heel stackNot published by On. 35 mmDoctors of Running (reviewer)
Forefoot stackNot published by On. 29 mmDoctors of Running (reviewer)
Drop6 mmOn (published)
MidsoleHelion™ foam in a triple-layer CloudTec® configurationOn
OutsoleRubber pads on the Cloud elementsFleet Feet (retailer)
UpperPolyester mesh, gusseted padded tongueOn
Widths, men'sD, 2E (wide)Fleet Feet (retailer)
Widths, women'sD onlyFleet Feet (retailer)
Removable insoleNot published—
APMA Seal of AcceptanceNot claimedOn
List price$190On

Figures checked September 7, 2026. Manufacturer pages: men’s · women’s.

What the spec sheet suggests — and what only a test can answer

On publishes the least of any brand on this site, and the Cloud elements are the reason we want it on the bench. The hollow “Clouds” under the sole compress individually, which On markets as the sensation of landing soft and pushing off firm. Clinically the question is what happens under a heel that strikes hard on the outside edge: hollow elements can collapse unevenly, and a shoe that is stable on paper can feel tippy on a supinated foot. That is a single-leg-stance and heel-counter question, and it is not on any spec sheet.

The rocker plus the Speedboard is a hallux rigidus combination. A plate that stiffens the forefoot and a rockered geometry both reduce how far the big-toe joint bends at push-off. On says the 3 brought the rocker back; if the sole is as stiff as the plate suggests, this is one of the more interesting shoes on this site for a stiff big toe — pending a flex test.

6 mm drop on a 35 mm heel, per Doctors of Running. Moderate for a heel-pain patient; lower than the 8–10 mm many prefer. On does not publish the figure.

Width is the practical limitation. A 2E exists for men only; women get one width. For a bunion or wide female forefoot, that alone rules it out until the toe-box measurement says otherwise.

What only the test can answer: every geometric number (On publishes none), lateral stability under a supinated heel strike, forefoot stiffness, toe-box dimensions, insole removability and orthotic volume around the Speedboard.

Who the On Cloudmonster 3 is probably for

Read from the published specification, not from wear. Treat these as hypotheses the test will confirm or overturn.

Likely a fit if
  • Neutral runners and walkers who want maximum cushion with a rocker — On’s own positioning for the 3.
  • Hallux rigidus patients who benefit from a plate and a rocker, pending the flex test.
  • Men with wide feet — a 2E exists (men only).
Wait for the test if
  • Women with wide feet — one width only.
  • Supinators, unstable ankles or neuropathy — hollow Cloud elements and a 35 mm heel need the stability readings first.
  • You run custom orthotics — insole removability and volume are unpublished, and a plate under the insole may limit volume.

On Cloudmonster 3: what changed from the previous version

Per On’s press release and Doctors of Running: the Cloudmonster 3 (March 5, 2026) gets a new mesh upper and a padded gusseted tongue (addressing the lace-bite complaint on the 2), and a new triple-layer CloudTec configuration that reviewers describe as firmer and more rockered than the Cloudmonster 2 — “bringing back the rocker and responsiveness of the 1”. On publishes no measured changelog.

Cross-shopping the Brooks Ghost 17? It is $40 cheaper, comes in four widths, and Brooks publishes the stack, drop and weight that On does not. Brooks vs On Cloud, on the published specs →

Where to buy

Disclosure: the links below are paid links. If you buy through them Amazon pays us a commission at no cost to you. Commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal, and this page carries no score because the shoe has not been tested — see our independence policy.

Check price on Amazon (men’s) — paid linkPaid link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.
Check price on Amazon (women’s) — paid linkPaid link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

Amazon listings are colourway-specific; the button opens one common colourway and you can switch colour and width there. Manufacturer list price $190 on September 7, 2026; prices move, check the listing. Also sold directly by On.

Questions people ask about the Cloudmonster 3

What is the On Cloudmonster 3 good for?

On positions it as its maximum-cushion neutral daily trainer for easy and long road miles. Read from the spec sheet, the two groups it suits best are neutral runners and walkers who want a rockered, highly cushioned shoe, and — pending a flex test — hallux rigidus patients, because a Speedboard plate plus a rocker reduces how far the big-toe joint has to bend at push-off.

What is the difference between the Cloudmonster 2 and the Cloudmonster 3?

Per On’s launch release and Doctors of Running: the 3 gets a new mesh upper with a padded, gusseted tongue (the lace-bite complaint on the 2) and a new triple-layer CloudTec configuration that reviewers describe as firmer and more rockered than the 2. If you liked the softer 2 it is a different ride; if you wanted the rocker back, the 3 is the one.

What are the differences between the Cloudmonster 1 and the Cloudmonster 3?

On says the 3 brings back the rocker and responsiveness of the original Cloudmonster after the softer 2, on a new triple-layer CloudTec layout with a padded gusseted tongue. On publishes no measured changelog, so the stack and drop comparison is a bench job.

Are Cloudmonster shoes worth it?

At $190 it is the most expensive shoe on this site with the least published data — On lists no weight, stack or drop, so the figures on this page come from a named reviewer. Worth it depends on whether the rocker and plate suit your foot: promising for a stiff big toe, less so for a supinated or unstable ankle on hollow Cloud elements, and women get one width only. We will not say either way until it has been measured and worn.

Is the On Cloudmonster 3 a stability shoe?

No. On positions it as a neutral maximum-cushion daily trainer; it has no stability system.

What is the drop of the Cloudmonster 3?

On does not publish it. Doctors of Running measured 6 mm on a 35 mm heel.

Does the Cloudmonster 3 come in wide?

For men, yes — a 2E is listed by retailers. For women, no.

Do podiatrists recommend the On Cloudmonster 3?

On is a brand podiatrists are asked about far more often than they suggest it, and the honest answer is that it depends entirely on the model. The Cloudmonster is the one with a clinical argument: a maximum-cushion rocker with a Speedboard plate, which is the geometry used to roll the foot through a step rather than asking a stiff, painful big toe to bend. For hallux rigidus that is a sensible thing to try. The cautions are real. Hollow CloudTec elements under a tall midsole ask more of your ankle than a solid foam block, which is the wrong trade for a supinator, an unstable ankle or a neuropathic foot. It is a men’s-wide-only fitting. And On does not publish the stack heights or the drop, so those figures are attributed to an independent source. We have not worn or measured this pair. No score, no seal.

What happens next

This page currently compares attributed published specifications. No original measurements or wear-test records are documented. Any future first-hand report would require retained photographs, measurement methods and wear notes. Our scoring and award programme remains an unvalidated proposal; no score or Seal follows automatically from a test. The Orthotic Volume Rating is also a proposed notation, not a recorded measurement for this shoe. Corrections to source information can be reported through the published contact route.

Page type: spec analysis. Acquisition: not yet purchased. Last verified: September 7, 2026. Author: Tom Biernacki, DPM, FACFAS — board-certified foot and ankle surgeon, about.

Drop is the figure that decides how load splits between your heel and your forefoot, so it is the fastest way to tell these apart. Where a figure was independently measured rather than taken from the brand, it says so — and on several of these the two disagree.

HOKA Bondi 9

Max cushion, 41.3 mm heel, and 94.1 mm across the widest point of the toe box.

9.1 mm drop (independently measured)

HOKA Clifton 10

Taller heel than the Bondi at 44.4 mm and a softer midsole, in a lighter shoe.

12.4 mm drop (independently measured)

Brooks Ghost 17

The lowest stack of the neutral group at 36.2 mm, and the most honest spec sheet.

10.4 mm drop (independently measured)

Guides on this site that weigh the On Cloudmonster 3 — Spec Analysis (Not Yet Tested) against the problem you are actually trying to solve:

Browse every shoe on file or read how we test.

Compare it with the rest: every On review · the shoes for hallux rigidus · the shoes for plantar fasciitis · everything for running · everything for walking · the wide fittings. Every list shows the published drop, stack, weight, widths and price side by side. Across the range: a foot surgeon’s assessment of On Cloud shoes.

Citing this analysis

This page is a spec analysis, not a test report: the figures are the manufacturer’s or a named third party’s, each printed beside its source, and nothing here carries a score or the Seal until the shoe has been worn and measured on our bench. Quote any figure you like — keep the source attached to it, and link the page rather than the number. How to cite or link to an analysis.