Buying guide

Brooks vs On Cloud: One Brand Publishes Its Numbers

The honest difference between these two brands is not the ride. It is that Brooks publishes its numbers and On does not. Brooks states drop, heel stack, forefoot stack, weight, four widths and a removable insole for every model here. On publishes none of those for the Cloudmonster 3, and for the Cloudrunner 2 not even a weight — the figures below had to be sourced from a reviewer and a retailer. Brooks is also $10 to $50 cheaper.

By Tom Biernacki, DPM, FACFASDouble board-certified foot & ankle surgeonUpdated 26 Sep 2026
Spec comparison — none of these shoes tested by us yet

None of these shoes has been under our caliper, so none is scored and none carries our seal. Every figure below is the brand’s or a named third party’s, labelled. What our testing tiers mean →

—Not yet tested
Table comparing what Brooks and On publish: Brooks states heel stack 36.5 mm, forefoot 26.5 mm, drop 10 mm, weight 286 g, four widths and a removable insole; On states none of those and lists two widths
The six figures that decide whether a shoe fits a difficult foot. Brooks states all of them; On states none for the Cloudmonster 3 and charges $40 more. Brooks figures from Brooks; On widths from Fleet Feet. Neither shoe has been on our bench.
Watch: Brooks Ghost Max Review [New Best Cushioned Running Shoe?]A Brooks cushioned trainer reviewed in full, for context on the brand comparison.Michigan Foot Doctors · general education, not a diagnosis · editorial policy

The short answer

Model versions: the Brooks Adrenaline GTS 24 and Brooks Ghost 17 named on this page have since been superseded. The current models are the Brooks Adrenaline GTS 25 and Brooks Ghost 18. Nothing here has been swapped to the newer versions — this page describes the models it was built on, and each newer model has its own review.

If you have a foot problem, buy Brooks. Not because the shoes are better — we have not tested either brand and will not pretend to know — but because the two things that decide whether a shoe works on a difficult foot are width and whether an orthotic fits, and Brooks answers both in writing while On does not. Brooks lists Narrow, Medium, Wide and X-Wide across the models below and confirms the insole lifts out. On lists D and 2E for men on the Cloudmonster and D only for women, and does not publish insole removability at all.

If you are buying on feel, the question is different and we cannot answer it for you yet. On’s CloudTec elements and Speedboard produce a ride that has no Brooks equivalent, and people who love it are not wrong. What we can tell you is that you will be paying $160 to $190 for a shoe whose stack height its own maker will not state.

The transparency gap, in one line. Brooks states heel stack, forefoot stack, drop, weight, widths and insole removability. RunRepeat’s lab then measured the Ghost 17 within 0.7 mm of every Brooks figure. On states none of those for the Cloudmonster 3; the numbers in the table below came from Doctors of Running and Fleet Feet.

Every published figure, side by side

Two neutral daily trainers and two support shoes, one pair from each brand. “Not published” in the On column means the brand does not state it anywhere on its US product page.

SpecificationBrooks Ghost 17On Cloudmonster 3Source
CategoryNeutral daily trainerMaximum cushion, neutralBoth brands
Stated heel stack36.5 mmNot publishedBrooks; On states none
Stated forefoot stack26.5 mmNot publishedBrooks; On states none
Third-party stack36.2 / 25.8 mm35 / 29 mmRunRepeat lab; Doctors of Running
Stated drop10 mmNot publishedBrooks; On states none
Third-party drop10.4 mm measured6 mmRunRepeat lab; Doctors of Running
Stated weight, men’s286 g / 10.1 ozNot publishedBrooks; On states none
Third-party weight289 g measured295 g at size 9RunRepeat lab; Doctors of Running
WidthsNarrow, Medium, Wide, X-WideMen D and 2E; women D onlyBrooks; Fleet Feet for On
Removable insoleYesNot publishedBrooks; nobody for On
Toe box at the big toe69.6 mmNot measured by anyoneRunRepeat lab
MSRP$150$190Both brands
SpecificationBrooks Adrenaline GTS 24On Cloudrunner 2Source
CategoryStability daily trainerStability / “more support”Brooks; REI listing for On
Support hardwareGuideRails, medial post, reinforced heel counterNot specifiedBrooks; On describes none
Stated heel stack39 mmNot publishedBrooks; On states none
Stated forefoot stack27 mmNot publishedBrooks; On states none
Stated drop12 mm10 mmBrooks; REI for On
Lab-measured drop13.5 mmNot measured by anyoneRunRepeat lab
Weight283 g stated, 291 g measuredPair weight 1 lb 3.5 oz, size not statedBrooks and RunRepeat; REI for On
WidthsNarrow, Medium, Wide, X-WideNot publishedBrooks; On states none
Removable insoleYesNot publishedBrooks; nobody for On
Toe box at the big toe73.7 mmNot measured by anyoneRunRepeat lab
MSRP$140$160Brooks; on.com for On

Where the numbers are shaky — on both sides

Brooks is not perfect either. The Adrenaline GTS 24 is listed at a 12 mm drop and RunRepeat’s calipers found 13.5 mm, because the measured forefoot came in 1.5 mm under the stated figure. That is the largest discrepancy in this comparison and it is worth knowing if you are choosing a stability shoe for Achilles pain, where drop is one of the few published numbers that reliably matters. The Ghost 17, by contrast, measured within 0.7 mm of Brooks’ figures on every dimension — among the most honest spec sheets we have read.

On’s figures come from other people entirely. The Cloudmonster 3’s 35/29 mm stack and 6 mm drop are Doctors of Running’s, from one pair in one size. The Cloudrunner 2’s 10 mm drop is REI’s, and its only weight is a pair weight with no size attached, which is not a figure you can compare with anything. Nobody has published an internal toe-box measurement for either On shoe. Those are not small omissions on a $160 to $190 shoe.

Which brand a foot doctor hands you

Brooks makes more sense when

  • You need width. Four widths from Narrow to X-Wide, published, on both models here.
  • You wear an orthotic. Brooks confirms the insole lifts out; On does not say.
  • You want to be able to check the shoe against the numbers, and to compare it with anything else.
  • Price matters: $140 to $150 against $160 to $190 for the On equivalents.

On makes more sense when

  • You want a flatter shoe. The Cloudmonster’s 6 mm drop is well below the Ghost’s 10 mm and the Adrenaline’s 12 mm.
  • You have tried the CloudTec ride and prefer it. Nothing in the Brooks range feels like it, and that is a real reason.
  • You are a standard width with no orthotic, where On’s missing figures cost you nothing.
  • You want more forefoot foam: 29 mm on the Cloudmonster against 25.8 mm measured on the Ghost.
What neither brand settles. Comfort, durability and whether a shoe holds up under your body over 300 miles are not spec-sheet properties, and no amount of published data answers them. We do not have either brand on the bench yet, so we are not ranking them. What we can say is which brand lets you make an informed decision before you buy, and on that the answer is not close.

Where to buy

Amazon affiliate links. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a ranking, a score or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing. Our independence policy.

Brooks — Ghost 17 from $150, Adrenaline GTS 24 from $140. Four widths, removable insole.

Brooks Ghost 17, men’s Brooks Ghost 17, women’s Adrenaline GTS 24 on Amazon

On — Cloudmonster 3 from $190, Cloudrunner 2 from $160. Flatter drop, fewer widths.

On Cloudmonster 3, men’s On Cloudmonster 3, women’s On Cloudrunner 2, men’s On Cloudrunner 2, women’s

These buttons open an Amazon search rather than one colourway, because all four models are sold in dozens of colour and width combinations and a single listing would send most readers to the wrong one. Prices are the brands’ list prices read on September 9, 2026.

Our full analysis of each

Brooks Ghost 17

Spec analysis — not yet tested

The most accurate spec sheet in our library: every stated figure within 0.7 mm of the lab.

Brooks Adrenaline GTS 24

Spec analysis — not yet tested

GuideRails, four widths, and the 1.5 mm forefoot discrepancy that moves the real drop to 13.5 mm.

On Cloudmonster 3

Spec analysis — not yet tested

Every figure On declines to publish, and who filled each of them in.

On Cloudrunner 2

Spec analysis — not yet tested

A stability shoe with no published stack, no published widths and no support hardware named.

On makes far more than the Cloudmonster, and the rest of the line does not share its numbers. Our brand-level assessment works through the range in On Cloud shoes for men.

Common questions

Are On Cloud shoes good for plantar fasciitis?

We have not tested them, so we will not rank them for it. What is worth knowing before you spend $190: plantar fasciitis decisions turn on heel height, drop, width and whether an orthotic fits, and On publishes none of those four for the Cloudmonster 3. The Brooks equivalents publish all four. That does not make On a bad shoe — it makes it a shoe you cannot evaluate for a specific foot problem before you buy it. Our plantar fasciitis guide covers what we have looked at.

Which brand is wider?

Brooks, and not marginally. Both Brooks models here come in Narrow, Medium, Wide and X-Wide. The On Cloudmonster 3 is listed by Fleet Feet in D and 2E for men and D only for women, and On publishes no widths at all for the Cloudrunner 2. If you have a bunion, a hammertoe or a genuinely wide forefoot, that is usually the end of the discussion.

Is On worth the extra money?

On the published figures alone, no — you are paying $40 more for the Cloudmonster than the Ghost and getting fewer widths, no stated stack and no confirmation that an orthotic fits. But ride is not on a spec sheet, and plenty of people try both and come back to On. The fair statement is that the premium buys a feel, not a specification.

What about Brooks vs Hoka, or Brooks vs New Balance?

Different questions with different answers, and we treat them separately. Hoka’s published data sits between these two brands — it states weights and drops but usually not stack heights. New Balance publishes drop and widths but is inconsistent on stack. Brooks remains the most completely documented of the four in our library so far.

Sources: Brooks’ US product pages for the Ghost 17 and Adrenaline GTS 24 (stack, drop, weight, widths, insole, price); RunRepeat’s lab measurements for both Brooks models; On’s US product pages for the Cloudmonster 3 and Cloudrunner 2 (category, midsole, upper, price); Doctors of Running for Cloudmonster 3 stack, drop and weights; Fleet Feet for Cloudmonster outsole and widths; REI for Cloudrunner 2 category, drop and pair weight. Last verified 9 September 2026.

Sourced, not guessed

Recently reviewed

Individual shoe pages state their evidence tier, published measurements and who should skip them.

Saucony

Saucony Endorphin Speed 5

Spec Analysis

Light plated neutral trainer. Saucony publishes both stack heights and they match its 8 mm drop — not yet tested.

$175Not scoredRegular / Wide
HOKA

HOKA Mach 6

Spec Analysis

Lower, firmer neutral HOKA. HOKA publishes a 5 mm drop and neither stack height — not yet tested.

Not scored
ASICS

ASICS Novablast 5

Spec Analysis

Bouncy high-stack neutral. ASICS publishes an 8 mm drop and neither stack height — not yet tested.

Not scoredStandard / Wide / Extra Wide

All reviews

Our funding and evidence policy

We earn affiliate commissions from qualifying purchases. Our policy is to assess published evidence and fit needs rather than rank products by commission rate. Current reviews are specification analyses; see our method for their limits.