Buying guide

Best Shoes for Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome (2026): Fit and Evidence

Spec analysis — not yet tested · Migrated from Michigan Foot Doctors · Updated September 2026

By Tom Biernacki, DPM, FACFASDouble board-certified foot & ankle surgeonUpdated 8 Oct 2026

Published-source analysis. The model specifications below are attributed to their published sources. We have no original product photographs, measurements, wear notes or clinician-review records supporting this guide. Design and fit discussion does not establish prevention, treatment success or an original test score. How we assess shoes →

Tarsal tunnel syndrome involves compression of the posterior tibial nerve near the inside of the ankle. Causes and symptoms vary, so a shoe specification cannot diagnose it. This guide compares published design features of five stability models; it has no clinical outcome data establishing that any one model treats nerve compression. ACFAS guidance recommends assessment and describes supportive footwear and orthotic devices as possible parts of individualized care. The posterior tibial tendon dysfunction guide covers a different condition.

The brief

What a tarsal-tunnel foot needs from a shoe

This is the checklist. The shoes below are the current models whose manufacturer-published design matches it — none has been measured by us yet.

  • Published support design. Guide rails, firmer sections and platform shapes are design descriptions. This page has not measured the listed shoes’ effect on nerve pressure or symptoms.
  • A soft, low medial collar. The tunnel sits just behind and below the inside ankle bone. A padded collar that stays clear of that spot matters more than any cushioning claim.
  • Heel-to-toe drop is a specification, not a treatment range. No evidence presented here establishes 6–12 mm or excludes every zero-drop shoe for tarsal tunnel syndrome. Compare the number with your usual footwear and any individual clinical advice.
  • Space for any prescribed device. A removable insole may help accommodate an orthosis, but it does not prove fit or make replacement necessary. This guide has no patient data showing most people do better with an insert.
  • Width options. A width grade helps identify versions to try. It does not measure clearance at your forefoot, ankle or any prescribed orthosis.
From the clinic

The page has no clinical records comparing soft and firm shoes for nerve symptoms. Cushioning softness alone does not establish whether a shoe worsens or improves this condition. Persistent or worsening tingling, burning or numbness warrants assessment rather than repeated model changes.

How this page is paid forPodiatrist Tested is reader-supported. Buttons marked Paid link go to Amazon; as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Our editorial policy is to assess evidence and fit considerations rather than rank by commission rate. Editorial policy →

Monochrome study of a heel and inner ankle — best shoes for tarsal tunnel syndrome, Podiatrist Tested
Illustrative stock photograph. It does not demonstrate nerve pressure or a shoe’s treatment effect. Photo: Pexels

Five current stability shoes that fit the brief

Listed in no particular order. Every number is the manufacturer’s own published figure, attributed by name, with the page it was read from. Where a brand does not publish a figure, the row says so — we do not fill gaps with guesses.

Stability daily trainer · released June 2026

ASICS GEL-Kayano 33 Spec analysis

ASICS’ flagship stability shoe. For 2026 ASICS replaced the older ‘4D Guidance’ system with what it calls FLUIDSUPPORT, an adaptive support structure, on an FF BLAST MAX and FF BLAST PLUS midsole. The published drop is 8 mm, which is a specification rather than a diagnosis-specific target, and the shoe is sold in Standard, Wide and Extra Wide as separate SKUs, which is what lets you size the forefoot without strangling the ankle.

Manufacturer figureValue
Weight298 g / 10.5 oz (basis not stated) ASICS
Heel-to-toe drop8 mm ASICS
Stack heightnot published ASICS
WidthsStandard · Wide · Extra Wide (separate SKUs) ASICS
MSRP$170 ASICS
Sourceasics.com/us — GEL-KAYANO 33 read Sept 2026

Skip it if:

  • A treating clinician has advised a different support design, or this pair aggravates symptoms. This guide has not established that a stability system harms every high-arched foot.
  • Your individual care plan calls for a different construction, or this pair is uncomfortable. The published drop does not establish a preferred treatment for an Achilles or nerve condition.
  • Your ankle bone sits low and any structured collar irritates it; try the shoe on and walk before committing.

Check price on Amazon (men’s) Paid link · availability checked Sept 2026

Stability daily trainer · GuideRails

Brooks Adrenaline GTS 25 Spec analysis

Brooks’ GuideRails approach is different from a medial post: two firmer rails on either side of the heel limit sideways roll only when the foot starts to roll, a design description that does not establish its effect on your nerve symptoms. Brooks publishes a 10 mm midsole drop on the GTS 25 and offers it in four widths from Narrow to Extra Wide.

Manufacturer figureValue
Weight10.6 oz men’s / 9.5 oz women’s (Fleet Feet brand-spec table; Brooks’ own page is script-rendered) Fleet Feet
Heel-to-toe drop10 mm Brooks
Stack height37 mm heel / 27 mm forefoot (retailer spec tables, not brooksrunning.com) REI / Fleet Feet
WidthsNarrow 1B · Medium 1D · Wide 2E · Extra Wide 4E Brooks
MSRP$155 Brooks
Sourcebrooksrunning.com — Adrenaline GTS 25 read Sept 2026

Skip it if:

  • You want a cushioned shoe without any guidance structure — this one is built to correct motion.
  • You need a low-drop shoe; 10 mm is the highest in this group.
  • You are buying for a narrow heel and a wide forefoot in one shoe — the width options are whole-shoe, not split.

Check price on Amazon (men’s) Paid link · availability checked Sept 2026

Stability daily trainer · value pick

New Balance Fresh Foam X 860v15 Spec analysis

New Balance’s 860 is the stability counterpart to the 880. New Balance describes a ‘Stability Plane’ in the midsole and a rocker profile, and sells the v15 in Narrow through X-Wide. It is the least expensive shoe in this group at $149.99 but there is no recorded comparison here of custom-orthotic fit. Its removable insole does not establish an Orthotic Volume Rating.

Manufacturer figureValue
Weight331 g / 11.7 oz (basis not stated) New Balance
Heel-to-toe dropnot on the New Balance product page (Fleet Feet lists 6 mm) Fleet Feet
Stack heightnot on the New Balance page (Fleet Feet lists 40 / 34 mm) Fleet Feet
WidthsMen B · D · 2E · 4E; women’s widths also offered New Balance
MSRP$149.99 New Balance
Sourcenewbalance.com — Fresh Foam X 860v15 read Sept 2026

Skip it if:

  • You want the lightest option on the page — at 331 g it is the heaviest running shoe here.
  • You need a firm, traditional heel counter; New Balance’s own description emphasises cushioning over rigid structure.
  • Your podiatrist wants a full-length rigid shank — no shoe in this group is that shoe; that is an orthotic conversation.

Check price on Amazon (men’s) Paid link · availability checked Sept 2026

Lightweight stability · lowest weight in the group

HOKA Arahi 9 Spec analysis

HOKA’s stability shoe uses what it calls an H-Frame: firmer foam around the perimeter of a soft core, so the heel is cradled without a hard medial post. HOKA publishes 10.00 oz and an 8 mm drop and offers Regular, Wide and X-Wide. The published weight can be compared with the other rows, while fit and symptom response remain untested here.

Manufacturer figureValue
Weight10.00 oz (basis not stated) HOKA
Heel-to-toe drop8 mm HOKA
Stack heightnot on hoka.com (Fleet Feet lists 39 / 31 mm) Fleet Feet
WidthsRegular · Wide · X-Wide HOKA
MSRP$155 HOKA
Sourcehoka.com — Arahi 9 read Sept 2026

Skip it if:

  • You need a different support design under individual clinical advice; no comparative support test is reported here.
  • You dislike a high-stack, rockered ride; HOKA’s geometry is distinctive and not everyone adapts to it.
  • You need a 4E width; HOKA tops out at X-Wide.

Check price on Amazon Paid link · availability checked Sept 2026

Stability daily trainer · lowest published drop here

Saucony Guide 19 Spec analysis

Saucony’s Guide uses raised sidewalls it calls CenterPath to keep the foot centred rather than a firm post. It is offered in Regular, Wide and Extra Wide. Retailers list a 6 mm drop — Saucony’s own spec block was not readable on its page when we checked, so treat the drop and stack rows as retailer-reported until we measure them.

Manufacturer figureValue
Weight9.7 oz men’s / 8.9 oz women’s (Fleet Feet brand-spec table) Fleet Feet
Heel-to-toe drop6 mm (retailer spec; Saucony page not readable) Fleet Feet
Stack heightretailer figures conflict (39/33 vs 35/29 mm) — unverified retailers
WidthsRegular · Wide · Extra Wide Saucony
MSRP$150 Saucony
Sourcesaucony.com — Guide 19 read Sept 2026

Skip it if:

  • You have been told to use a higher heel lift — 6 mm is the lowest drop in this group.
  • You want published, verifiable stack numbers from the brand; Saucony’s are not readable, the current comparison retains that source limitation.
  • You need a 4E; Extra Wide is the ceiling.

Check price on Amazon (men’s) Paid link · availability checked Sept 2026

Watch: Inside of the Ankle Pain [Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome Treatment & Symptoms]Where tarsal tunnel pain comes from, and how it is treated.Michigan Foot Doctors · general education, not a diagnosis · editorial policy

Running With Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome: What Changes and What Does Not

Whether to run depends on the diagnosis, symptoms and treatment plan. The fact that these are running shoes does not establish that running is appropriate or safe for every person with this condition.

This guide has not measured tunnel pressure during running or established a minute-by-minute symptom mechanism. Record when symptoms occur and discuss activity changes with the treating clinician instead of treating a model change as a diagnosis.

The lacing matters as much as the shoe

Check whether the actual collar or laces press on a sensitive area while keeping the shoe secure. This page has no records establishing a most-common lacing fix or comparing top-eyelet patterns for nerve outcomes.

Surface and camber, not just cushioning

Surface and route are factors to discuss if symptoms occur during running. This guide has not compared camber, track direction or shoe design as treatments, so it cannot identify the route as the cause of one-sided symptoms.

Volume beats footwear for nerve symptoms

The guide does not establish a recovery timetable or prove that run-walk intervals outperform footwear changes. Activity progression should follow individual advice and symptoms; neither the model list nor a support-system label predicts recovery. The Adrenaline GTS 25 comparison remains a specification analysis.

Persistent numbness or symptoms that disturb sleep deserve medical assessment. They do not, on their own, identify the cause or establish which treatment will be required.

If you stand or walk all day rather than run

For readers who stand or walk at work, compare fit and fastening under the conditions in which the shoes will be used. The guide has no patient cohort showing which occupations or activity patterns are most common.

The guide has not measured pressure or circulation during standing and cannot present a single explanation for symptoms across a work shift. Tell the treating clinician how standing, walking and rest relate to your symptoms.

Two things follow from that, and the second one surprises people:

  • Record the timing and location of symptoms. A pattern at the end of a shift is useful history, but this guide cannot use it to diagnose the cause.
  • Discuss suitable breaks and activity with the treating team. This page has not shown that walking laps, step exercises or timed calf raises relieve symptoms better than footwear or are appropriate for every diagnosis.

What changes about the shoe

The same limits apply at work: published support, collar and drop descriptions do not establish treatment. Consider the actual shoe fit, fastening and any prescribed device.

  • Check fit when your foot is representative of how it feels during the activity, in the socks you use. This guide has no measured 9 AM-to-4 PM size or pressure change.
  • Adjust fastening if it rubs or becomes uncomfortable while maintaining secure fit. A fixed lunchtime change or skipped eyelet is not a proven treatment.
  • The guide has not compared swapping pairs with using one suitable pair. Buying a second pair is not an established nerve treatment.

Footwear advice must fit the individual diagnosis and activities. This guide cannot divide every case into a pronation half and a congestion half or promise that a particular work strategy will settle symptoms.

What a shoe cannot do for tarsal tunnel syndrome

A clinician should assess persistent symptoms and select care for the cause. Supportive footwear and orthotic devices are options described in ACFAS guidance; this page does not establish a majority success rate for those measures or prove a named retail shoe relieves nerve compression.

The insole question

A removable insole is a fitting feature, not an instruction to replace it. No patient records or custom-orthotic fit trials support a standard escalation sequence here. If a device is prescribed, assess the actual shoe-and-device combination; specifications alone do not establish compatibility.

The PowerStep Pinnacle Maxx (paid link) is a linked retail option, not a documented clinic treatment or proven first choice for tarsal tunnel syndrome. No dispensing records or comparison of symptoms support a recommendation over other devices here. Compare its published design in PowerStep Pinnacle vs Maxx vs Pulse and best insoles for flat feet. Fit of one prefabricated insert does not establish whether every custom device will fit the same shoe.

Common footwear questions

Are Hokas good for tarsal tunnel syndrome?

The Arahi is marketed as a stability model. Its support system and midsole description do not establish a nerve-pressure result. This guide has not clinically compared HOKA stability and neutral models for tarsal tunnel syndrome.

Should I wear a zero-drop or barefoot shoe for tarsal tunnel syndrome?

There is no universal drop recommendation established by this guide. Do not treat 6–12 mm, zero drop or a barefoot label as a proven treatment choice; use individual clinical advice and check the actual shoe.

Can tarsal tunnel syndrome be fixed with shoes alone?

The guide has not measured shoe-only treatment success. Symptoms need a diagnosis and an individualized plan; footwear may be one part of care and cannot identify the cause of nerve compression.

Do I need custom orthotics for tarsal tunnel syndrome?

Custom orthotics are an option a clinician may prescribe, not the automatic next step after a fixed period in an over-the-counter insert. The choice and fit depend on the assessed problem.

Diagram of a right foot from above and from below, with four nerve territories shaded and numbered: superficial peroneal across the top of the foot, deep peroneal in the first web space, tibial across the sole, and the plantar digital nerve at the third and fourth web space.
Original diagram by Podiatrist Tested. Territories are drawn schematically — real borders vary between people and overlap at the edges, which is why an examination beats a picture.

Different disorders can cause burning or numbness. Our guide to best shoes for sciatica and best shoes for Baxter’s nerve entrapment provide related reading, but symptom location or a diagram cannot replace an examination.

What evidence would improve this page. Future original testing would need an identified shoe sample, original photographs, recorded measurements and wear observations. No such records are available for the current guide. A removable insole alone does not establish an Orthotic Volume Rating, and a specification analysis does not earn a physical-testing seal. What the seal requires →

Sources
  1. ASICS US, GEL-KAYANO 33 product page (drop, widths, weight), read Sept 2026.
  2. Brooks Running, Adrenaline GTS 25 product page (drop, widths); Fleet Feet and REI brand-spec tables (weight, stack), read Sept 2026.
  3. New Balance, Fresh Foam X 860v15 product page (weight, widths); Fleet Feet brand-spec table (drop, stack), read Sept 2026.
  4. HOKA, Arahi 9 product page (weight, drop, widths); Fleet Feet brand-spec table (stack), read Sept 2026.
  5. Saucony, Guide 19 product page (widths); Fleet Feet brand-spec table (weight, drop), read Sept 2026.

Clarification (8 October 2026): Removed unsupported patient-frequency, dispensing, outcome and universal heel-drop claims. Qualified activity advice, product comparisons and orthotic escalation. This guide remains a published-specification comparison without original fit trials, nerve-pressure measurements or documented clinician review.

Sourced, not guessed

Recently reviewed

Individual shoe pages state their evidence tier, published measurements and who should skip them.

Saucony

Saucony Endorphin Speed 5

Spec Analysis

Light plated neutral trainer. Saucony publishes both stack heights and they match its 8 mm drop — not yet tested.

$175Not scoredRegular / Wide
HOKA

HOKA Mach 6

Spec Analysis

Lower, firmer neutral HOKA. HOKA publishes a 5 mm drop and neither stack height — not yet tested.

Not scored
ASICS

ASICS Novablast 5

Spec Analysis

Bouncy high-stack neutral. ASICS publishes an 8 mm drop and neither stack height — not yet tested.

Not scoredStandard / Wide / Extra Wide

All reviews

Our funding and evidence policy

We earn affiliate commissions from qualifying purchases. Our policy is to assess published evidence and fit needs rather than rank products by commission rate. Current reviews are specification analyses; see our method for their limits.