We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, including Amazon links paid by brand partners through Levanta, at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money
Saucony Guide 19: A Podiatrist’s Analysis
Spec analysis — not yet tested
What this page is. A podiatrist’s reading of the manufacturer’s published specifications for the Saucony Guide 19. Nothing on this page has been measured, worn or scored by us yet. There is no score and no seal here on purpose: under our standard, a number only appears once a pair has been on the bench and on the road. When this shoe is tested, this page is replaced by the full review and the change is logged.
The Guide is Saucony’s everyday stability shoe, and since the 17 it has used sidewalls rather than a medial post to keep the foot centred. The 19 reformulates the foam. Here is what Saucony publishes, what it leaves out, and what a foot and ankle surgeon reads into the numbers before the pair is measured.

On this page
- What Saucony says the Guide 19 is
- Saucony Guide 19 specifications: heel-to-toe drop, stack height and weight
- What the spec sheet suggests — and what only a test can answer
- Who the Saucony Guide 19 is probably for
- Saucony Guide 19: what changed from the previous version
- Questions people ask about the Guide 19
What Saucony says the Guide 19 is
Saucony describes the Guide 19 as a stability shoe “engineered for maximum cushioning and protection” for everyday comfort, using what it calls CenterPath Technology: “Sidewalls guide your foot for balanced support, without feeling stiff.” The midsole is PWRRUN foam and the upper a flexible mesh. It is sold in Regular, Wide and Extra Wide for both men and women at $150.
Saucony publishes a weight, stack heights and the drop on its product page, but no launch date and no size for the weight. Retailers and running-specialist reviewers do not fully agree with Saucony or with each other, which is noted in the table, and a lab has since cut the shoe in half and measured it.
Saucony Guide 19 specifications: heel-to-toe drop, stack height and weight
Source column tells you where each figure comes from. “Saucony” means the brand’s own US product page. A retailer name means the brand does not publish that figure and a retailer does. “Not published” means nobody reliable does — those are the figures our bench measures first.
| Specification | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Stability, daily trainer | Saucony |
| Support system | CenterPath Technology — sidewall guidance, no medial post | Saucony |
| Weight, men's | 9.7 oz / 275 g, size not stated. Third-party figures run ~10.3–10.5 oz | Saucony (published), plus Running Warehouse / RunRepeat |
| Weight, women's | 8.9 oz / 252 g, size not stated | Saucony (published) |
| Heel stack | 35 mm. Saucony’s own figure resolves the 35 vs 37 mm split in retailer listings | Saucony (published) |
| Forefoot stack | 29 mm. Saucony’s own figure resolves the 29 vs 31 mm split | Saucony (published) |
| Drop | 6 mm | Saucony (published, as Offset: 6mm) |
| Midsole | PWRRUN foam (reformulated for the 19) | Saucony |
| Outsole | Rubber; compound not named by Saucony. Described as XT-900 carbon rubber | Running Warehouse (retailer) |
| Upper | Flexible mesh | Saucony |
| Widths, men's and women's | Regular, Wide, Extra Wide | Saucony |
| Removable insole | Yes, 6.5 mm thick | RunRepeat lab |
| APMA Seal of Acceptance | Saucony keeps an APMA-accepted collection page; the Guide 19 is not named on it | Saucony — not confirmed |
| List price | $150 | Saucony |
Figures checked September 6, 2026. Manufacturer pages: men’s · women’s.
What the spec sheet suggests — and what only a test can answer
Sidewall stability is a different mechanism from a medial post, and it matters for whom it suits. A traditional post is a firmer wedge under the arch that resists the inward roll of a flat, pronating foot. Sidewalls (Saucony’s CenterPath, and the same idea as Brooks’ GuideRails or HOKA’s H-Frame) raise the foam on both sides so the foot sits in a shallow trough. In clinic, patients with mild-to-moderate overpronation often tolerate sidewalls better than a post because nothing pushes up under a tender arch. Patients with a severely flat, rigid or arthritic foot often need more than a trough, and for them “stability” on the box is not enough on its own.
The 6 mm drop is the number to notice. Most stability shoes sit at 8–12 mm; Saucony has listed the Guide at 6 mm since the 17, and a lab measured 6.0 mm on the 19 (the 18 measured 8.3). That is a friendlier geometry for the forefoot and a less friendly one for a tight Achilles or a morning-stiff plantar fascia. If you are coming from a 10–12 mm stability shoe, budget an adjustment period.
The spec sheet has holes, and they are Saucony’s. Saucony’s 9.7 oz comes without a size, and its 35 / 29 mm stack sits 2 mm under what retailers list; a lab weighed one shoe at 298 g and measured 37.4 / 31.4 mm with the insole in. That is not a criticism of the shoe; it is the reason we put shoes on a scale and under a caliper.
What only the test can answer: the true stack and weight, how stiff the heel counter is (which for an overpronator matters as much as the sidewalls), how much orthotic volume the trough leaves, and whether the reformulated PWRRUN stays supportive after 50 miles or packs down.
Who the Saucony Guide 19 is probably for
Read from the published specification, not from wear. Treat these as hypotheses the test will confirm or overturn.
- Mild-to-moderate overpronators who found a posted shoe uncomfortable under the arch.
- Runners and walkers who want stability at a lower drop and already tolerate 6 mm.
- Wide and extra-wide feet — three widths across both men’s and women’s.
- Severe flat feet, posterior tibial tendon problems or a rigid arthritic foot — sidewalls alone may be too little, and a lab found it the second least resistant to twisting of the 24 shoes we review with its newer test.
- Achilles or plantar fascia pain that likes a heel — 6 mm is on the low side for you.
- You run custom orthotics — insole removability and volume are unpublished.
Saucony Guide 19: what changed from the previous version
Saucony’s product page says the 19 uses a reformulated PWRRUN foam (softer, with more rebound) and has more forefoot flexibility than the 18. Running Warehouse adds that outsole rubber coverage increased. A lab has since measured both: it agrees on softer and more flexible, but found less energy return at the heel (54.8% against 61.3%), a drop that fell from 8.3 to 6.0 mm and a toe box 7.5 mm lower. Our Guide 18 vs 19 comparison sets out who should switch. Launch timing (around January 2026) is inferred from review publication dates because Saucony does not publish it.
Where to buy
Disclosure: the links below are paid links. If you buy through them Amazon pays us a commission at no cost to you. Commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal, and this page carries no score because the shoe has not been tested — see our independence policy.
Amazon listings are colourway-specific; the button opens one common colourway and you can switch colour and width there. Manufacturer list price $150 on September 6, 2026; prices move, check the listing. Also sold directly by Saucony.
Questions people ask about the Guide 19
Is the Saucony Guide 19 a stability shoe?
Yes. Saucony lists it as a stability shoe using CenterPath sidewalls rather than a medial post. Its neutral sibling is the Ride.
What is the drop of the Guide 19?
6 mm, per retailer and reviewer listings; Saucony’s own page does not state a drop figure.
Does the Guide 19 come in wide?
Yes — Regular, Wide and Extra Wide for both men and women, per saucony.com.
Guide 19 or Guide 18?
Saucony says the 19 has a softer, higher-rebound PWRRUN foam and more forefoot flexibility; a lab agreed on softer and more flexible but measured less energy return, 54.8% against 61.3%. If the 18 fits you, note that the lab measured the 19 at the same width but with a toe box 7.5 mm lower, so toes that need height may miss the 18; our Guide 18 vs 19 comparison has the rest.
Do podiatrists recommend the Saucony Guide?
The Guide is Saucony’s mainstream stability trainer and a reasonable suggestion for a mild-to-moderate pronator, particularly one whose arch is tender. Its CenterPath system guides the foot with raised sidewalls rather than a firm medial post pressing up under the arch, which is generally more comfortable for exactly the foot that needs it. Three widths, including extra-wide, widen its usefulness further. Two limits. Its 6 mm drop is a low heel for a stability shoe — good if you want stability without a raised heel, wrong if the Achilles or the plantar fascia is the thing that hurts. And sidewall guidance is not motion control: for a severe flat foot or a posterior tibial tendon in trouble, the specification points to more structure. Saucony’s published weight and stack sit below what retailers list and what a lab measured (298 g, 37.4 / 31.4 mm), so the sources are shown above rather than averaged. Not yet tested: no score, no seal.
What happens next
This page currently compares attributed published specifications. No original measurements or wear-test records are documented. Any future first-hand report would require retained photographs, measurement methods and wear notes. Our scoring and award programme remains an unvalidated proposal; no score or Seal follows automatically from a test. The Orthotic Volume Rating is also a proposed notation, not a recorded measurement for this shoe. Corrections to source information can be reported through the published contact route.
Page type: spec analysis. Acquisition: not yet purchased. Last verified: September 6, 2026. Author: Tom Biernacki, DPM, FACFAS — board-certified foot and ankle surgeon, about.
Other shoes we have looked at
Drop is the figure that decides how load splits between your heel and your forefoot, so it is the fastest way to tell these apart. Where a figure was independently measured rather than taken from the brand, it says so — and on several of these the two disagree.
Brooks Adrenaline GTS 24
A stated 12 mm drop — 13.5 mm when a lab measured it — with GuideRails working at the heel.
ASICS Gel-Kayano 32
Geometry-based guidance instead of a medial post, and a softer ride than the Adrenaline.
ASICS GT-2000 15
The lighter, cheaper stability option in the ASICS line.
Where this shoe fits
Guides on this site that weigh the Saucony Guide 19 against the problem you are actually trying to solve:
- Best running shoes for flat feet — the running version, including the flexible-vs-rigid test.
- Best shoes for flat feet — how a collapsing arch changes what to look for.
- Best shoes for overpronation — how much a shoe can really slow the inward roll.
- Best shoes for arch support — why midfoot rigidity holds an arch up and a foam bump does not.
- Best running shoes for plantar fasciitis — what changes when the heel has to survive a run.
- Best walking shoes for plantar fasciitis — the same problem at walking speed, where the rocker matters more.
- Best running shoes for wide feet — Extra Wide for both sexes.
- Best shoes for tarsal tunnel syndrome — the stability brief for a nerve compressed at the ankle, and what a shoe cannot do.
- Best Saucony shoes for plantar fasciitis — where the Guide 19 sits among Saucony’s other options for heel pain.
Browse every shoe on file or read how we test.
Compared head-to-head: HOKA Arahi 8 vs Saucony Guide 19 — two different theories of stability at the same price.
Compared head-to-head: Saucony Triumph vs Guide — max cushion against stability in the same range.
Compare it with the rest: every Saucony review · the shoes for flat feet · the shoes for overpronation · the shoes for wide feet · everything for running · everything for walking · the extra-wide fittings · the wide fittings. Every list shows the published drop, stack, weight, widths and price side by side.
This page is a spec analysis, not a test report: the figures are the manufacturer’s or a named third party’s, each printed beside its source, and nothing here carries a score or the Seal until the shoe has been worn and measured on our bench. Quote any figure you like — keep the source attached to it, and link the page rather than the number. How to cite or link to an analysis.