Is the Brooks Ghost 17 Good for Plantar Fasciitis?
On this page
Spec analysis — not yet tested · Published September 2026
Spec analysis — not yet tested. This shoe has not been through the Podiatrist Tested bench. Every figure below is the manufacturer’s own published number, attributed by name; the reasoning is clinical judgement about the published design, not our measurement. No score, no seal. How we test →
The Brooks Ghost is one of the highest-volume daily trainers sold anywhere, so “is the Ghost good for plantar fasciitis” is a question a very large number of people are typing. The Ghost 17 has two genuine points in its favour for this condition, one of which nearly every page gets wrong in the other direction — and one timing issue you should know about before you spend anything.
Buy-timing first: the Ghost 17 has been superseded. The Brooks Ghost 18 is the current model, released in May 2026 and listed by Brooks at $150. One major retailer now marks the Ghost 17 discontinued, and it is expected to stay on shelves at a discount for some months. That is not a reason to avoid the 17 — a discounted current-generation-minus-one shoe is often the best value in running footwear. It is a reason to check the price of both before you buy, and to expect sizes and widths to thin out.
The correction that runs the other way: the Ghost 17 does hold the APMA Seal of Acceptance. We checked the American Podiatric Medical Association’s own database directly — the Ghost 17 is listed, as is the Ghost 16. Brooks’ own product pages make no seal claim at all, and its APMA blog post predates the shoe. So this is the mirror image of the Ghost Max 4, where the seal is widely claimed and does not exist. Here it exists and is not claimed. What the seal means is worth knowing: APMA states it is not a testing laboratory and evaluates products submitted to it. It is a review of a submission, not an outcome trial.
The evidence for arch support and heel cushioning was downgraded in 2023
The current clinical practice guideline for this condition is Heel Pain — Plantar Fasciitis: Revision 2023, published in the Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy by the Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy and the American Academy of Sports Physical Therapy. We read the guideline itself rather than a summary of it, and this is what changed.
The 2014 version said, at grade A (strong evidence): “Clinicians should use foot orthoses, either prefabricated or custom fabricated/fitted, to support the medial longitudinal arch and cushion the heel…”
The 2023 revision replaced that with two weaker statements:
- Grade B — “Clinicians should not use orthoses, either prefabricated or custom fabricated/fitted, as an isolated treatment for short-term pain relief in individuals with plantar fasciitis.”
- Grade C — “Clinicians may use orthoses… when combined with other treatments…”
Footwear itself appears in that guideline exactly twice, and both times at its weakest grades: under the grade C orthoses heading, as “an over-the-counter heel cushion, footwear modification that provide heel cushioning, especially in individuals with decrease shock absorption capacity”; and under patient education at grade E — theoretical or foundational evidence — as “footwear options to mitigate commonly occurring weight loading stresses.”
There is no grade A or grade B footwear recommendation in the guideline. What does carry grade A: plantar-fascia-specific and calf stretching, manual therapy, taping as an adjunct, and night splints for people who consistently have first-step morning pain.
So the honest framing for every page like this one, ours included: a shoe is a comfort and symptom-management variable. It is not the treatment. Anyone telling you a particular shoe cures plantar fasciitis is claiming more than the evidence supports.
Two facts that should change how you read every shoe review
First: it is not an inflammation. Despite the name, the histology shows myxoid degeneration, collagen disarray, micro-tears and granulation tissue, with a notable absence of the classic inflammatory picture. Clinicians increasingly call it plantar fasciopathy for that reason. This matters commercially, because it means any product sold to you on the promise of “reducing inflammation” in your heel is aimed at a mechanism that is largely not there.
Second: roughly three quarters of cases resolve on their own within twelve months. That single fact quietly destroys most of the shoe testimonials you will read. If someone buys a shoe, and their heel pain improves over the following months, the most likely explanation is the natural history of the condition rather than the shoe. Uncontrolled before-and-after stories — including glowing ones about the shoe on this page — carry almost no information. It is also why we are not going to show you any.
The drop question, and why this shoe sits at the centre of it
The Ghost 17 runs a 10 mm midsole drop, and Brooks changed it deliberately. In its own words, describing the move from the Ghost 16:
“The optimized midsole drop of 10mm in the Ghost 17 versus 12mm in the Ghost 16 was a significant structural change to benefit heel-strikers and those with Achilles-related concerns. We also added 1mm of DNA LOFT v3 cushioning to the heel and 3mm to the forefoot.”
Brooks Running, Evolution of the Brooks Ghost Running Shoe
That is internally consistent — adding 1 mm at the heel and 3 mm at the forefoot takes 12 mm down to 10 mm. It is also a manufacturer claim about who benefits, and it is worth holding it up against what has actually been measured, because the literature on heel height and the plantar fascia is a genuine mess.
| Study | What it found |
|---|---|
| Yu et al. (2016), finite element model | Plantar fascia tension decreased by 75% standing in two-inch heels versus barefoot — but in the same paper, strain increased in three-inch heels to twice the barefoot level. One study pointing both ways, unexplained. |
| Wang et al. (2021), Frontiers in Bioengineering | Peak plantar fascia strain rose progressively as heel height went from 3 cm to 7 cm, peaking near the site of heel pain. |
| Kogler et al. (2001) | Block-shaped heel lifts produced no significant change in plantar fascia strain. Contoured shanks supporting the arch did reduce it. |
| Franettovich Smith et al. (2025), in patients | A 14 mm pitch shoe reduced peak heel pressure by ~15% versus a 4 mm pitch shoe. Immediate effect only. |
Three cautions on all of that. Most of this work measures absolute heel heights of two to seven centimetres in high-heeled or heel-lifted conditions, not the six-to-twelve-millimetre drops of athletic shoes — extrapolating from a 7 cm heel to a 10 mm drop is not defensible. Much of it is modelling rather than in-vivo measurement in patients. And the Kogler finding is the one that should stay with you if you take away one thing: arch contour moved fascial strain; heel height on its own did not.
Where does that leave the Ghost 17? At 10 mm it sits at the higher end of current daily trainers, most of which have drifted to 5–8 mm. That is directionally consistent with the one patient study, and it means less demand on the calf at push-off — which matters given that Achilles tendon force has been calculated to account for around 65 per cent of plantar fascia strain. It is a reasonable choice on the mechanics. It is not a treatment, and the evidence does not let anyone claim a specific drop is correct.
What has actually been measured about shoes
Very little, and it is worth knowing exactly how little.
- One direct footwear-design study in patients. Franettovich Smith and colleagues (Journal of Foot and Ankle Research, 2025) tested 29 women with plantar heel pain in a shoe with a 14 mm heel-to-toe pitch against one with a 4 mm pitch. The higher-pitch shoe reduced peak heel pressure by about 15 per cent. Five different insoles inside the test shoe produced no significant differences between them. Read the limitation carefully: this measured immediate pressure, not pain over time. It shows a shoe can change what your heel feels. It does not show that changing that changes the condition.
- One randomised trial that went the other way. Reinstein and colleagues (Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine, 2024) randomised 52 people with persistent plantar heel pain to four weeks of treadmill walking either barefoot or in comfortable sports shoes. Both groups improved. The barefoot group improved more — morning pain fell 5.1 cm on a visual analogue scale versus 2.9 cm shod, with a larger gain in physical function. This is an inconvenient result for the entire supportive-shoe category and we are not going to pretend it does not exist. It was treadmill walking under supervision, not a recommendation to throw your shoes away.
- Combination, not shoe alone. A systematic review of mechanical treatments found that rocker-soled shoes produced significant pain reduction when combined with customised insoles. The benefit attaches to the combination. No trial has shown a retail shoe on its own treating this condition.
What Brooks actually publishes
| Specification | Men’s | Women’s |
|---|---|---|
| Midsole drop | 10 mm | 10 mm |
| Weight | 10.1 oz / 286.3 g size not stated by Brooks |
9.0 oz / 255.1 g size not stated by Brooks |
| Heel / forefoot stack | Not published by Brooks in any locale | |
| Widths (retailer-reported) | D, 2E, 4E · sizes 7–15 | B, D, 2E · sizes 5–13 |
| Midsole foam | DNA LOFT v3, nitrogen-infused | |
| Rocker | No rocker claim. Brooks says only that the midsole works with outsole flex grooves to “promote heel-to-toe flow” | |
| MSRP | $150.00 — expect discounting now the Ghost 18 has landed | |
| APMA Seal | Yes — listed in APMA’s database (as is the Ghost 16) | |
Why there is no stack height here. Two named retailers publish figures for this shoe and they disagree with each other — one gives 37 mm heel and 27 mm forefoot, the other 36.5 and 26.5. Brooks publishes neither. A half-millimetre disagreement on a number the manufacturer never stated is exactly the kind of figure we will not print. And you cannot derive it from Brooks’ “+1 mm heel, +3 mm forefoot” statement either, because Brooks never published the Ghost 16’s absolute stack to add it to.
So who is this shoe actually for
A reasonable pick if…
- You want the higher drop without buying a specialist shoe. 10 mm in a mainstream, widely stocked, easily replaced trainer is the practical version of that idea.
- You want a shoe that has actually been through the APMA seal process. It is a submission review rather than a clinical trial, but it is a real thing and this shoe has it.
- You need 4E — available in the men’s according to retailer listings.
- You like a discount. With the Ghost 18 out, this is the moment the 17 gets cheap.
Look elsewhere if…
- You want a rocker. Brooks makes no rocker claim for the Ghost 17. If that is what you are after, the Ghost Max 4 is the rockered shoe in the range — see our Ghost Max 4 and plantar fasciitis page, and note it does not hold the seal.
- You need a specific size or width and it has to last. Superseded shoes disappear. If you want to buy the same model again in a year, buy the Ghost 18.
- Your problem is arch support rather than heel height. The Kogler finding points at arch contour, not heel elevation, as the lever on fascial strain — which is an orthotic question, and the guideline is specific that orthoses belong alongside other treatment, not instead of it.
Our full Brooks Ghost 17 spec analysis covers the shoe outside this condition, and the heel-to-toe drop chart puts that 10 mm in context against the rest of the market.
What actually carries the strongest evidence
If you only act on one section of this page, make it this one. These are the grade A recommendations from the 2023 guideline — the interventions with a preponderance of high-quality evidence behind them:
- Plantar-fascia-specific stretching, plus calf stretching. In DiGiovanni’s two-year follow-up, 94 per cent of patients reported pain reduced or eliminated and none went on to surgery. Note honestly that everyone in that trial also received a prefabricated insole and a short course of anti-inflammatory medication, so it is not a clean test of stretching alone.
- Manual therapy directed at the joints and soft tissue of the lower limb, with emphasis on improving ankle dorsiflexion.
- Taping, rigid or elastic, in conjunction with other treatment, for short-term relief.
- Night splints for one to three months, specifically for people who consistently have pain with the first steps in the morning. Worth flagging a disagreement here: the guideline grades this A, but American Family Physician called the role of night splints “inconclusive” and an umbrella review found no difference against orthoses. We are giving you the guideline grade and the dissent.
There is also a mechanical reason the calf keeps appearing. In a study of rocker shoes, changes in Achilles tendon force accounted for about 65 per cent of total plantar fascia strain. The calf drives the load on your heel far more than most footwear marketing acknowledges — which is part of why stretching outranks shoes in the evidence.
When it is not plantar fasciitis
Do not buy a shoe for these — get assessed. Heel pain that is not worst on the first steps of the day; pain that does not ease as you warm up; night pain or pain at rest; a sudden pop or an inability to put weight through the foot (fascial rupture, and a recognised complication of steroid injection); focal bony tenderness, especially after a recent jump in impact loading (calcaneal stress fracture); burning, tingling, numbness or radiating pain (nerve entrapment, including Baxter’s nerve and tarsal tunnel — the guideline’s own diagnostic criteria require negative tarsal tunnel tests before calling it plantar fasciitis); heel pain in both feet alongside morning stiffness elsewhere or inflammatory back and joint symptoms (spondyloarthritis); or no improvement at three months despite proper treatment, which is the point at which imaging is generally considered. The guideline also asks clinicians to look for fat-pad atrophy and proximal plantar fibroma when a case is atypical or is not resolving.
Common questions
Should I buy the Ghost 17 or wait for the Ghost 18?
The Ghost 18 is already out and Brooks lists it at the same $150 the 17 launched at, holding the same 10 mm drop. If the 17 is meaningfully discounted and your size and width are in stock, it is good value. If you want to be able to re-buy the identical shoe next year, buy the 18.
Is the Ghost 17 APMA approved?
It holds the APMA Seal of Acceptance, which is listed in APMA’s own database. Worth being precise about what that is: APMA states it is not a testing laboratory and evaluates products that companies submit. It is not evidence that the shoe treats plantar fasciitis.
Is 10 mm the right drop for plantar fasciitis?
Nobody knows, and the studies genuinely conflict — see the table above. Ten millimetres is on the higher side of the current market and is directionally consistent with the single direct study in heel-pain patients, which is a reasonable basis for a preference, not a rule.
Does it have enough arch support?
Brooks classes the Ghost as neutral with balanced cushioning and makes no arch-support claim beyond “secure heel with dynamic forefoot helps provide inherent stability.” If arch support is what you are chasing, the Kogler work suggests that is the lever that actually moves fascial strain — and it is a question about what goes in the shoe.
Ghost 17 or Adrenaline GTS?
The Ghost is the neutral shoe; the Adrenaline is the stability version with GuideRails. Both currently hold APMA seals. Stability is about how much your foot rolls inward, which is a separate question from heel pain and is worth having someone actually look at.
Sources
- Koc TA Jr, et al. Heel Pain — Plantar Fasciitis: Revision 2023. Clinical Practice Guidelines linked to the ICF, Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy and American Academy of Sports Physical Therapy, APTA. J Orthop Sports Phys Ther. 2023;53(12):CPG1–CPG39. — the 2014 grade A orthoses recommendation and its 2023 replacement by the grade B “should not use… as an isolated treatment” and grade C “may use… combined” statements; the grade C heel-cushioning footwear-modification bullet; the grade E patient-education footwear line; grade A status for stretching, manual therapy, taping and night splints. Read at source.
- Plantar Fasciitis. StatPearls (NBK431073). — degenerative rather than inflammatory histology; first-step morning pain; approximately 75% resolve within 12 months; differential diagnosis.
- Plantar Fasciitis (heel pain) review. American Family Physician, 2019. — “fasciopathy” framing; SORT ratings; differential table; three-month imaging threshold; night-splint dissent.
- Franettovich Smith MM, et al. Immediate Effects of Footwear Design on In-Shoe Plantar Pressures, Impact Forces and Comfort in Women With Plantar Heel Pain. J Foot Ankle Res. 2025;18(2):e70055. — 29 women; 14 mm vs 4 mm pitch; ~15% heel peak pressure reduction; no differences between five insoles; immediate effects only.
- Reinstein M, Weisman A, Masharawi Y. Barefoot walking is beneficial for individuals with persistent plantar heel pain: a single-blind randomized controlled trial. Ann Phys Rehabil Med. 2024;67:101786. — n=52; morning pain VAS improvement 5.1 cm barefoot vs 2.9 cm shod.
- Greve C, et al. Biomechanical effects of rocker shoes on plantar aponeurosis strain in patients with plantar fasciitis and healthy controls. PLOS ONE. 2019;14(10):e0222388. — no significant reduction in plantar aponeurosis strain between shoe conditions (p = .089, n = 16); Achilles tendon force accounted for 65 ± 2% of total strain.
- Effectiveness of Mechanical Treatment for Plantar Fasciitis: A Systematic Review. J Sport Rehabil. 2020;29(5). — 43 studies; rocker-soled shoes with customised insoles produced significant pain reduction; prefabricated and custom insoles comparable.
- DiGiovanni BF, et al. Plantar fascia-specific stretching exercise improves outcomes in patients with chronic plantar fasciitis: two-year follow-up. J Bone Joint Surg Am. 2006;88-A(8):1775–1781. — 94% pain reduced or eliminated at two years; no surgery; note both arms also received prefabricated insoles.
- Rasenberg N, et al. Efficacy of foot orthoses for the treatment of plantar heel pain: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Br J Sports Med. 2018;52(16):1040–1046. — no difference between prefabricated and custom orthoses on short-term pain.
- American Podiatric Medical Association Seal of Acceptance database, apma.org. — checked directly for every seal claim on this page.
- Wang M, Li S, Teo E-C, Fekete G, Gu Y. The Influence of Heel Height on Strain Variation of Plantar Fascia During High Heel Shoes Walking. Front Bioeng Biotechnol. 2021;9:791238. — peak plantar fascia strain increased progressively from 3 cm to 7 cm heel height.
- Richie D. Heel Elevation In The Shoe: What The Literature Reveals. Podiatry Today / HMP Global. — the heel-elevation conflict, collating Yu (2016), Wibowo (2017), Kogler (2001), Dixon & Kerwin and Wearing. Findings attributed to that review.
- Brooks Running product pages for the Ghost 17 (men’s 110442, women’s 120431, UK and US locales) and Ghost 18; Brooks Running blog, Evolution of the Brooks Ghost Running Shoe. — drop, weights, foam, upper, MSRP, the Ghost 16 to 17 change quote, and the absence of stack heights and rocker claims.
- Fleet Feet and REI Co-op listings (named retailers, labelled as such). — width availability; the two conflicting stack figures we declined to publish; discontinued status.
Page type: spec analysis — not yet tested · This shoe has not been measured on our bench · All figures manufacturer-published and attributed; retailer figures labelled as such · Last verified September 2026 · Reviewed by Dr. Thomas Biernacki, DPM
Reviews for Plantar Fasciitis
Individual shoe pages state their evidence tier, published measurements and who should skip them.
Dansko XP 2.0
Spec AnalysisOccupational clog with a removable dual-density footbed and slip-resistant outsole — not yet tested.
Orthofeet Coral
Spec AnalysisExtra depth, published quarter-inch removable insole, four widths A–2E, 15.7 mm drop — not yet tested.
Skechers GO WALK Arch Fit 2.0
Spec AnalysisRemovable Arch Fit insole, hands-free entry, APMA Seal on some styles — not yet tested.
Measured, worn, scored — never sponsored
No brand has ever paid for a review, a score, a ranking or the seal. Where we earn a commission the link says so, and the score does not change.