We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, including Amazon links paid by brand partners through Levanta, at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money

Saucony Ride 19 — Spec Analysis (Not Yet Tested)

Spec analysis — not yet tested

What this page is. A podiatrist’s reading of the manufacturer’s published specifications for the Saucony Ride 19. Nothing on this page has been measured, worn or scored by us yet. There is no score and no seal here on purpose: under our standard, a number only appears once a pair has been on the bench and on the road. When this shoe is tested, this page is replaced by the full review and the change is logged.

The Ride is the neutral twin of the Guide 19 already on this site: same platform, no sidewalls. The 19 moved to a wider base, a softer PWRRUN+ foam and a more pronounced rocker. Saucony, as with the Guide, publishes almost no numbers, so the figures below come from a named reviewer and a retailer. Here is what a foot and ankle surgeon reads into them.

Chart showing where the Saucony Ride 19 sits among the 43 shoes on file for heel stack, forefoot stack, heel-to-toe drop and published weight
Where this pair sits in our spec library of 43 shoes. Published figures only — the brand’s where it states one, otherwise a named retailer, reviewer or lab, credited in the table below. None of them is our own measurement.

What Saucony says the Ride 19 is

Saucony describes the Ride 19 as “softer, lighter, and more responsive than ever” and “equally at home on easy miles, long steady runs, or faster-paced training” — a neutral daily trainer. The midsole is PWRRUN+, which Running Warehouse describes as a supercritical eTPU blend for a “softer landing, higher energy return”, under an engineered-mesh upper on an XT-900 carbon-rubber outsole. Saucony does not publish weight, stack or drop. It is sold in D and 2E for men and B and D for women at about $145.

Watch: Saucony Ride 17 Review [Best Running Shoes for Men & Women]The Ride platform, reviewed on an earlier version.Michigan Foot Doctors · general education, not a diagnosis · editorial policy

Saucony Ride 19 specifications: heel-to-toe drop, stack height and weight

Source column tells you where each figure comes from. “Saucony” means the brand’s own US product page. A retailer name means the brand does not publish that figure and a retailer does. “Not published” means nobody reliable does — those are the figures our bench measures first.

SpecificationFigureSource
CategoryNeutral, daily trainerSaucony
Weight, men's8.9 oz / 255 g, size not statedSaucony (published)
Weight, women's7.7 oz / 220 g, size not statedSaucony (published)
Heel stack36 mm. Third-party listings say 38 mm; Saucony’s own figure is 36 mmSaucony (published, inside “Offset: 8mm (36/28mm)”)
Forefoot stack28 mm. Third-party listings say 30 mm; Saucony’s own figure is 28 mmSaucony (published, inside “Offset: 8mm (36/28mm)”)
Drop8 mmSaucony (published, as Offset: 8mm)
MidsolePWRRUN+ (supercritical eTPU blend)Saucony / Running Warehouse
OutsoleXT-900 carbon rubberRunning Warehouse (retailer)
UpperEngineered meshRunning Warehouse (retailer)
Widths, men'sD, 2ESaucony
Widths, women'sB, DSaucony
Removable insoleNot published—
APMA Seal of AcceptanceNot confirmed — Saucony’s APMA-accepted listings found are for its kids’ lineSaucony — not confirmed
List price$144.95Saucony

Figures checked September 7, 2026. Manufacturer pages: men’s · women’s.

What the spec sheet suggests — and what only a test can answer

8 mm drop on a 38 mm heel is the friendlier geometry for a sore heel than the Guide 19’s 6 mm. That is the odd thing about this pair: the neutral Ride sits at 8 mm and the stability Guide at 6 mm, so a heel-pain patient with a neutral foot is better served by the Ride’s numbers, and a pronating heel-pain patient has to trade support against drop. Both figures are reviewer-measured — Saucony publishes neither.

A wider base is the change that matters most to us. Reviewers report the 19’s platform is wider underfoot with more sole flare than the 18. In a neutral shoe, base width is the main source of stability, and a wider, flared base under a soft foam is usually better tolerated by an older walker or a patient with a mildly unstable ankle than a narrow one. Whether it is wide enough is a measurement.

9.0 oz is light for this much stack. Light plus soft plus tall is comfortable and usually means lower torsional rigidity — fine for a neutral foot, a caution for a flat one.

What an independent lab has since answered: the stack (38.7 mm at the heel, 30.2 at the forefoot), the drop (8.5 mm), forefoot stiffness (seventh stiffest of the 35 shoes we review), the toe box (72.8 mm at the big toe, 28.8 mm tall) and a removable 6.5 mm insole. What only our own test can answer: base width, orthotic volume, and how PWRRUN+ holds up past 50 miles.

Who the Saucony Ride 19 is probably for

Read from the published specification, not from wear. Treat these as hypotheses the test will confirm or overturn.

Likely a fit if
  • Neutral runners and walkers with heel pain who want 8 mm of drop and a firmly held heel.
  • People who found the Guide 19 too controlling — same platform without the sidewalls.
  • Wider men’s feet — a 2E exists; women get B and D.
Wait for the test if
  • You pronate — this is the neutral shoe; the Guide 19 is the stability one.
  • Women with wide feet — no women’s 2E.
  • You run custom orthotics — insole removability and volume are unpublished.

Saucony Ride 19: what changed from the previous version

Saucony publishes no changelog. Doctors of Running describes the Ride 19 (launched around January 2026) as having a wider base underfoot, more sole flare, a plusher upper and a more pronounced rocker than the Ride 18, with a softer feel “dialed in for easy days” rather than the 18’s faster-leaning ride. A lab has since measured both: the 19 stands about 3.7 mm taller, weighed 23 g more and took about 74% more force to bend at the forefoot, with a much stiffer heel counter. Our Ride 18 vs 19 comparison sets out who should switch.

Where to buy

Disclosure: the links below are paid links. If you buy through them Amazon pays us a commission at no cost to you. Commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal, and this page carries no score because the shoe has not been tested — see our independence policy.

Check price on Amazon (men’s) — paid linkPaid link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.
Check price on Amazon (women’s) — paid linkPaid link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

Amazon listings are colourway-specific; the button opens one common colourway and you can switch colour and width there. Manufacturer list price $144.95 on September 7, 2026; prices move, check the listing. Also sold directly by Saucony.

Questions people ask about the Ride 19

What are the Saucony Ride 19 good for?

Easy and long miles for a neutral foot, per Saucony’s own positioning, and — read from the reviewer-measured figures — heel-pain patients who want an 8 mm drop; a lab measured 8.5 mm, with heel cushioning a little below the median of the shoes we review and a heel counter that scored 5 of 5 for stiffness. The wider, more flared base reviewers describe on the 19 is the change that matters most to an older walker or a mildly unstable ankle.

Is the Saucony Ride 19 a good running shoe?

On paper it is a light (9.0 oz at size 9 per Doctors of Running), neutral daily trainer on the same platform as the Guide 19 without the sidewalls, at about $145. Its limits are by design: no stability system, and women get only B and D widths. Whether it is good is what the bench and the wear test decide.

What are the key differences between the Saucony Ride 18 and Ride 19?

Saucony publishes no changelog. Doctors of Running describes the 19 as having a wider base underfoot, more sole flare, a plusher upper and a more pronounced rocker than the 18, with a softer feel dialed in for easy days rather than the 18’s faster-leaning ride. In the lab the 19 measured about 3.7 mm taller, 23 g heavier and much stiffer at the forefoot; our Ride 18 vs 19 comparison has the details.

Is Saucony better or Hoka?

Neither brand is better for every foot. On this site the comparable neutral shoes are this Ride 19 (8 mm drop, per reviewers) and the HOKA Clifton 10; the comparable stability shoes are the Guide 19 and the Arahi 8. Choose by drop, width and support system, not by brand — and read the source column, because Saucony and HOKA publish very different amounts of data.

Is the Saucony Ride 19 a stability shoe?

No. The Ride is Saucony’s neutral daily trainer; the Guide 19 is the stability version on the same platform.

What is the drop of the Saucony Ride 19?

Reviewers and retailers list 8 mm on a 38 mm heel; Saucony does not publish it.

Does the Ride 19 come in wide?

Men’s D and 2E; women’s B and D, per saucony.com.

Do podiatrists recommend the Saucony Ride?

The Ride is Saucony’s plain neutral daily trainer, and that is exactly why it gets suggested: an 8 mm drop, a cushioned heel and no corrective structure to fight a foot that does not need correcting. The 19 sits on a wider base than the 18, which generally helps a heel feel steadier underfoot. Two things to weigh. It is a neutral shoe, so if the reason you are shopping is that your foot rolls inward, the specification does not address it — the Guide 19 is the model in the line that does. And the wider base applies to the men’s fitting; Saucony does not offer this one in a women’s wide. Saucony publishes neither the stack heights nor the drop, so those figures here are attributed to an independent source. We have not worn or measured this pair — no score, no seal, yet.

What happens next

This page currently compares attributed published specifications. No original measurements or wear-test records are documented. Any future first-hand report would require retained photographs, measurement methods and wear notes. Our scoring and award programme remains an unvalidated proposal; no score or Seal follows automatically from a test. The Orthotic Volume Rating is also a proposed notation, not a recorded measurement for this shoe. Corrections to source information can be reported through the published contact route.

Page type: spec analysis. Acquisition: not yet purchased. Last verified: September 7, 2026. Author: Tom Biernacki, DPM, FACFAS — board-certified foot and ankle surgeon, about.

Drop is the figure that decides how load splits between your heel and your forefoot, so it is the fastest way to tell these apart. Where a figure was independently measured rather than taken from the brand, it says so — and on several of these the two disagree.

HOKA Bondi 9

Max cushion, 41.3 mm heel, and 94.1 mm across the widest point of the toe box.

9.1 mm drop (independently measured)

HOKA Clifton 10

Taller heel than the Bondi at 44.4 mm and a softer midsole, in a lighter shoe.

12.4 mm drop (independently measured)

Brooks Ghost 17

The lowest stack of the neutral group at 36.2 mm, and the most honest spec sheet.

10.4 mm drop (independently measured)

Guides on this site that weigh the Saucony Ride 19 — Spec Analysis (Not Yet Tested) against the problem you are actually trying to solve:

Browse every shoe on file or read how we test.

Compare it with the rest: every Saucony review · the shoes for achilles tendinitis · the shoes for plantar fasciitis · everything for running · everything for walking · the narrow fittings · the wide fittings. Every list shows the published drop, stack, weight, widths and price side by side.

Citing this analysis

This page is a spec analysis, not a test report: the figures are the manufacturer’s or a named third party’s, each printed beside its source, and nothing here carries a score or the Seal until the shoe has been worn and measured on our bench. Quote any figure you like — keep the source attached to it, and link the page rather than the number. How to cite or link to an analysis.