Spec analysis — not yet tested
What this page is. A podiatrist’s reading of the manufacturer’s published specifications for the HOKA Arahi 8. Nothing on this page has been measured, worn or scored by us yet. There is no score and no seal here on purpose: under our standard, a number only appears once a pair has been on the bench and on the road. When this shoe is tested, this page is replaced by the full review and the change is logged.
The Arahi is HOKA’s lighter stability shoe, the one we see most often on patients who were told to buy a HOKA but did not want the Bondi’s bulk. The Arahi 9 is listed as coming soon; the 8 is the version you can actually buy today. Here is what HOKA publishes, what it does not, and what a foot and ankle surgeon reads into the figures.
What HOKA says the Arahi 8 is
HOKA describes the Arahi 8 as a stability shoe built on a dual-density compression-moulded EVA midsole with its Enhanced H-Frame™ (the H-Frame replaced the older J-Frame with this version), a “super abrasion rubber” podular outsole and a double-jacquard mesh upper made largely from recycled fibres. Both the men’s and women’s pages state that the shoe carries the American Podiatric Medical Association Seal of Acceptance. It is sold in Regular, Wide and X-Wide at a $150 list price, currently discounted on hoka.com as the Arahi 9 approaches its October 1, 2026 US release.
Manufacturer specifications
Source column tells you where each figure comes from. “HOKA” means the brand’s own US product page. A retailer name means the brand does not publish that figure and a retailer does. “Not published” means nobody reliable does — those are the figures our bench measures first.
| Specification | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Stability, everyday running | HOKA |
| Support system | Enhanced H-Frame™ in a dual-density CMEVA midsole | HOKA |
| Weight, men's | 9.8 oz / 278 g (size not stated) | HOKA |
| Weight, women's | 7.7 oz / 218 g (size not stated) | HOKA |
| Heel stack | Not published by HOKA (“not specified” on the product page). 39 mm men’s / 37 mm women’s | Fleet Feet (retailer) |
| Forefoot stack | Not published by HOKA. 31 mm men’s / 29 mm women’s | Fleet Feet (retailer) |
| Drop | 8 mm | HOKA |
| Midsole | Dual-density compression-moulded EVA | HOKA |
| Outsole | Super abrasion rubber, podular layout | HOKA |
| Upper | Double jacquard mesh (62% recycled nylon, 25% recycled CDP, 11% recycled polyester, 2% spandex) | HOKA |
| Widths, men's and women's | Regular, Wide, X-Wide | HOKA |
| Removable insole | Not published | — |
| APMA Seal of Acceptance | Yes — stated on both product pages | HOKA |
| List price | $150 (discounted at time of writing) | HOKA |
Figures checked September 6, 2026. Manufacturer pages: men’s · women’s.
What the spec sheet suggests — and what only a test can answer
The H-Frame is a sidewall system, and HOKA is honest about what it targets. HOKA’s own copy for the Arahi line says it is designed to prevent excessive inward roll “without overcorrecting gait”. Read that as: mild-to-moderate overpronation, not a collapsed or rigid flat foot. The firmer foam is wrapped around the heel and medial side rather than wedged under the arch, which in clinic is usually the better-tolerated design for a tender arch and the less effective one for a severely pronated foot.
8 mm drop on a tall stack. If the Fleet Feet figures are right (HOKA does not publish stack), this is roughly 39 mm under the heel and 31 mm under the forefoot with an 8 mm offset — the geometry we most often see tolerated by heel-pain and Achilles patients. HOKA’s early-stage MetaRocker also reduces how much the big-toe joint has to bend at push-off, which is the reason rocker shoes keep turning up in hallux rigidus recommendations. Whether the Arahi’s rocker is pronounced enough to matter is something a flex test shows and a spec sheet does not.
Weight is the Arahi’s argument against the Bondi. At a published 9.8 oz it is the light option in HOKA’s supportive range. For an older walker or a patient with a fatigued limb, a lighter shoe is not a small thing.
What only the test can answer: the measured stack and drop, toe-box width and depth in the Wide and X-Wide (HOKA’s “wide” has historically been more about volume than forefoot width), the heel-counter stiffness that stability patients actually rely on, and whether the insole lifts out and leaves room for an orthotic — HOKA says nothing about that.
Who this shoe is probably for
Read from the published specification, not from wear. Treat these as hypotheses the test will confirm or overturn.
- Mild-to-moderate overpronators who want HOKA cushioning without the Bondi’s weight.
- Heel-pain and Achilles patients who do well at 8 mm drop with a soft, tall heel.
- Walkers and runners who want a rocker to unload a stiff big-toe joint.
- Severe flat feet or posterior tibial tendon dysfunction — an H-Frame is not a motion-control shoe; wait for the rigidity score.
- Balance or ankle-instability concerns — a 39 mm heel is a high platform.
- You run custom orthotics — insole removability and volume are unpublished.
What changed from the previous version
The Arahi 8 replaced the J-Frame of earlier versions with HOKA’s Enhanced H-Frame and moved to a recycled double-jacquard mesh upper. The Arahi 9 (US order date October 1, 2026 per Running Warehouse; “coming soon” on hoka.com at $155) is described by early reviewers as having a further-refined H-Frame, a more breathable upper, a redesigned collar and a less aggressive rocker; HOKA itself has not published a changelog. We will spec-analyse the 9 when it is purchasable and test whichever version is current when the pair is bought.
Where to buy
Disclosure: the links below are paid links. If you buy through them Amazon pays us a commission at no cost to you. Commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal, and this page carries no score because the shoe has not been tested — see our independence policy.
Amazon listings are colourway-specific; the button opens one common colourway and you can switch colour and width there. Manufacturer list price $150 on September 6, 2026; prices move, check the listing. Also sold directly by HOKA.
Questions people ask about the Arahi 8
Is the HOKA Arahi 8 a stability shoe?
Yes. HOKA lists it as a stability shoe using its H-Frame technology, aimed at preventing excessive inward roll without overcorrecting.
Arahi 8 or Bondi?
The Bondi is HOKA’s maximum-cushion neutral shoe and is heavier; the Arahi is the lighter stability option with an 8 mm drop. If you were told you overpronate, the Arahi is the one HOKA built for that.
What is the drop of the Arahi 8?
8 mm, per HOKA.
Does the Arahi 8 have the APMA seal?
Yes — both HOKA product pages state it carries the APMA Seal of Acceptance. That seal reviews a manufacturer’s submission; it does not publish measurements.
What happens next
This model is in the queue for bench testing under Standard v1.0: weight on our scale at men’s US 10, heel and forefoot stack with calipers, internal toe-box width and depth, torsional rigidity, heel-counter stiffness and an Orthotic Volume Rating with a real orthotic inside it. If it goes on to wear testing, the nine-criterion scorecard and the seal decision follow. Every number will carry its own provenance label so you can see which figures we measured and which we are still quoting. If you own a pair and something on this page contradicts what is on your feet, tell us — corrections are logged.
Page type: spec analysis. Acquisition: not yet purchased. Last verified: September 6, 2026. Author: Tom Biernacki, DPM, FACFAS — board-certified foot and ankle surgeon, about.