We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, including Amazon links paid by brand partners through Levanta, at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money
ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28: A Podiatrist’s Analysis
Spec analysis — not yet tested
What this page is. A podiatrist’s reading of the manufacturer’s published specifications for the ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28. Nothing on this page has been measured, worn or scored by us yet. There is no score and no seal here on purpose: under our standard, a number only appears once a pair has been on the bench and on the road. When this shoe is tested, this page is replaced by the full review and the change is logged.
The Nimbus is ASICS’s maximum-cushion neutral trainer and one of the most-recommended shoes in podiatry waiting rooms, usually on reputation rather than measurement. ASICS lists the 28 lighter than the 27 with the same drop; a lab measured the drop falling from 8.3 to 5.2 mm. Here is what ASICS publishes, what a foot and ankle surgeon reads into it, and what stays unknown until the pair reaches the bench.

On this page
- What ASICS says the GEL-NIMBUS 28 is
- ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 specifications: heel-to-toe drop, stack height and weight
- What the spec sheet suggests — and what only a test can answer
- Who the ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 is probably for
- ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28: what changed from the previous version
- Questions people ask about the GEL-NIMBUS 28
What ASICS says the GEL-NIMBUS 28 is
ASICS places the GEL-NIMBUS 28 in its “Maximum” cushioning tier for long-distance comfort, built on an FF BLAST PLUS midsole with a PureGEL unit in the heel and an engineered-knit upper. ASICS’s press release for the launch (US on-sale January 9, 2026) says the 28 is 20–25 g lighter than the 27 with a redesigned knit upper, a redesigned HYBRID ASICSGRIP outsole and a streamlined heel, while stack height and drop are unchanged. List price is $170.
ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 specifications: heel-to-toe drop, stack height and weight
Source column tells you where each figure comes from. “ASICS” means the brand’s own US product page. A retailer name means the brand does not publish that figure and a retailer does. “Not published” means nobody reliable does — those are the figures our bench measures first.
| Specification | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Neutral, maximum cushioning | ASICS |
| Weight, men's | 281 g / 9.9 oz (size not stated) | ASICS |
| Weight, women's | 242 g / 8.5 oz (size not stated) | ASICS |
| Heel stack | Not published on the ASICS US product page. 35.5 mm men’s / 34.5 mm women’s | Fleet Feet (retailer) |
| Forefoot stack | Not published on the ASICS US product page. 27.5 mm men’s / 26.5 mm women’s | Fleet Feet (retailer) |
| Drop | 8 mm | ASICS |
| Midsole | FF BLAST PLUS foam with PureGEL heel unit | ASICS |
| Outsole | HYBRID ASICSGRIP (ASICSGRIP + AHARPLUS compounds) | Fleet Feet (retailer) |
| Upper | Engineered knit | ASICS |
| Widths, men's | D (regular), 2E (wide), 4E (extra wide); wide sold on asics.com | Fleet Feet (retailer) + ASICS wide listing |
| Widths, women's | 2A (narrow), B (regular), D (wide); wide sold on asics.com | Fleet Feet (retailer) + ASICS wide listing |
| Removable insole | OrthoLite X-55 sockliner, described as removable | Fleet Feet (retailer) — not confirmed by ASICS |
| APMA Seal of Acceptance | ASICS’s APMA-accepted collection lists the GEL-NIMBUS line generically; the 28 is not shown as a distinct entry | ASICS — not confirmed for this version |
| List price | $170 | ASICS |
Figures checked September 6, 2026. Manufacturer pages: men’s · women’s.
What the spec sheet suggests — and what only a test can answer
Brand-stated drop and outside measurements differ. ASICS lists an 8 mm drop. The named outside laboratory sample measured 5.2 mm on a 39.5 mm heel, the sixth-lowest drop in this page’s 35-shoe dataset; its Nimbus 27 sample measured 8.3 mm. In the same recorded comparisons, the 28 had the highest resistance to twisting among 24 shoes measured with that newer test and the second-stiffest forefoot among 35 shoes. These are source- and sample-specific construction comparisons. They do not document patient comfort at 8 mm, establish an Achilles or big-toe treatment benefit, or show that the 27 is the better clinical choice.
The gel is under the heel, not the forefoot. PureGEL is placed in the rearfoot. If your pain is under the ball of the foot (metatarsalgia, a neuroma, sesamoiditis), the forefoot stack figure is the one that matters, and a lab measured 34.3 mm there, the third thickest of the 35 shoes we review. We will still measure forefoot thickness ourselves, because that is the number a metatarsalgia patient actually stands on.
Widths are real but the source is a retailer. ASICS sells a “wide” Nimbus 28 on its own site; the full D/2E/4E and 2A/B/D matrix comes from Fleet Feet. An engineered-knit upper tends to be more forgiving over a bunion than a stitched mesh, but knit also tends to hold the foot less firmly — a trade-off we score under heel-counter and midfoot hold.
What only the test can answer: whether the sockliner really lifts out cleanly (the retailer says it does; ASICS does not say), how much volume is left for an orthotic, the measured stack and toe-box width and depth, and how the softer foam behaves after 50 miles. The APMA question is also open: ASICS lists the Nimbus family on its APMA-accepted page, but not the 28 by name.
Who the ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 is probably for
Read from the published specification, not from wear. Treat these as hypotheses the test will confirm or overturn.
- Heel-pain patients who want a tall, cushioned heel — knowing that a lab measured its drop at 5.2 mm, not the 8 mm ASICS lists.
- Neutral runners and long-distance walkers who prioritise cushioning over ground feel.
- People with a bunion or wide forefoot who want a knit upper and a 2E/4E option.
- Your toes need room on top — a lab measured the toe box at 22.7 mm tall, the second lowest of the 34 shoes we review.
- You need medial support for a foot that rolls in — this is a neutral shoe by design, even though a lab found it unusually stiff to twist.
- You run custom orthotics — removability is retailer-reported, and the orthotic volume is unmeasured.
ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28: what changed from the previous version
ASICS’s own press release and blog compare the 28 to the 27: roughly 20–25 g lighter, a redesigned engineered-knit upper, a redesigned HYBRID ASICSGRIP outsole, a new tongue loop and a streamlined heel and pull-tab, with stack height and drop unchanged. Those are ASICS’s claims, and a lab has since measured both. The weight saving is real, about 21 g, but the drop did change: 8.3 mm on the 27 and 5.2 mm on the 28, whose heel stands 3.2 mm lower and whose toe box measured 3.7 mm lower. Our Gel-Nimbus 27 vs 28 comparison sets out who should switch.
Where to buy
Disclosure: the links below are paid links. If you buy through them Amazon pays us a commission at no cost to you. Commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal, and this page carries no score because the shoe has not been tested — see our independence policy.
Amazon listings are colourway-specific; the button opens one common colourway and you can switch colour and width there. Manufacturer list price $170 on September 6, 2026; prices move, check the listing. Also sold directly by ASICS.
Questions people ask about the GEL-NIMBUS 28
What is the Gel-Nimbus 28 good for?
Easy and long miles for a neutral foot, and — read from the spec sheet — heel-pain patients who want a tall, cushioned heel. It is sold as an 8 mm drop, but a lab measured 5.2 mm, so for an Achilles problem it raises the heel less than the label suggests. The PureGEL unit sits in the heel, so it is a rearfoot-first shoe; the 2E and 4E widths and the knit upper make it a candidate for a bunion or a wide forefoot too.
What is the difference between the ASICS Gel-Nimbus 27 and Gel-Nimbus 28?
Per ASICS’s own release: the 28 is roughly 20–25 g lighter, with a redesigned engineered-knit upper, a redesigned HYBRID ASICSGRIP outsole, a new tongue loop and a streamlined heel and pull-tab; stack height and drop are unchanged. A lab found otherwise: 8.3 mm of drop on the 27 and 5.2 mm on the 28, a toe box 3.7 mm lower and a stiffer forefoot, while the weight saving held up at about 21 g. Our Gel-Nimbus 27 vs 28 comparison has the details.
Is the ASICS Gel-Nimbus 28 a good shoe?
On paper it is a well-specified neutral max-cushion shoe with an unusually complete width range (men’s D to 4E, women’s 2A to D) and a retailer-reported removable OrthoLite sockliner, which matters to orthotic wearers. Its limits are by design: it is a neutral shoe with no medial support, though a lab found it unusually resistant to twisting and stiff at the forefoot. Whether it is good is what the bench and 50 logged miles will say; nothing here is a verdict.
What is the difference between the ASICS Nimbus 26 and 28?
ASICS only publishes a 27-to-28 comparison — roughly 20–25 g lighter, a new knit upper and outsole, stack and 8 mm drop unchanged — and no 26-to-28 comparison. We have measured none of the three, so treat a two-generation difference as two manufacturer claims stacked together until a pair of each is on the bench.
Is the ASICS Gel-Nimbus 28 a stability shoe?
No. It is ASICS’s neutral maximum-cushion shoe; the Gel-Kayano 32 and GT-2000 15 are the stability options.
What is the drop of the Gel-Nimbus 28?
8 mm, per ASICS. A lab that cut one pair in half measured 5.2 mm, against 8.3 mm on the Gel-Nimbus 27.
Does the Gel-Nimbus 28 come in wide?
Yes — men’s D, 2E and 4E; women’s 2A, B and D, per Fleet Feet; the wide sizes are sold on asics.com.
Do podiatrists recommend the ASICS Gel-Nimbus 28?
The Nimbus is ASICS’ maximum-cushion neutral shoe, and it is the one suggested when the goal is simply to put more foam between a painful foot and a hard floor. The combination that makes it a reasonable clinical starting point is a lot of cushioning under a tall heel and a forefoot that measured among the widest we have lab figures for at the ball of the foot, which tends to work for a bunion. ASICS lists an 8 mm drop, but a lab measured 5.2 mm, so for an irritable Achilles it lifts the heel less than the label suggests. The caveats are on this page. ASICS does not publish stack heights on its US product page, so those figures are attributed to an independent source. And a tall neutral shoe gives cushioning, not stability: if lateral instability is the main complaint, this is not the shoe the specification points to. Podiatrist Tested has not tested this pair. No score, no seal, until the bench.
What happens next
This page currently compares attributed published specifications. No original measurements or wear-test records are documented. Any future first-hand report would require retained photographs, measurement methods and wear notes. Our scoring and award programme remains an unvalidated proposal; no score or Seal follows automatically from a test. The Orthotic Volume Rating is also a proposed notation, not a recorded measurement for this shoe. Corrections to source information can be reported through the published contact route.
Page type: spec analysis. Acquisition: not yet purchased. Last verified: September 6, 2026. Author: Tom Biernacki, DPM, FACFAS — board-certified foot and ankle surgeon, about.
Other shoes we have looked at
Drop is the figure that decides how load splits between your heel and your forefoot, so it is the fastest way to tell these apart. Where a figure was independently measured rather than taken from the brand, it says so — and on several of these the two disagree.
HOKA Bondi 9
Max cushion, 41.3 mm heel, and 94.1 mm across the widest point of the toe box.
HOKA Clifton 10
Taller heel than the Bondi at 44.4 mm and a softer midsole, in a lighter shoe.
Brooks Ghost 17
The lowest stack of the neutral group at 36.2 mm, and the most honest spec sheet.
Staying with ASICS: the NOVABLAST 5 is the bouncy, high-stack neutral trainer in the same catalogue, and it shows the same reporting gap as the GEL-NIMBUS — ASICS publishes a drop for it but no stack heights.
Where this shoe fits
Guides on this site that weigh the ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 against the problem you are actually trying to solve:
- Best shoes for wide feet — sizing by width rather than length, and which widths each brand publishes.
- Best shoes for plantar fasciitis — what a shoe actually has to do for heel pain.
- Best walking shoes — why a cushioned running shoe usually beats a walking-specific one.
- Best running shoes for plantar fasciitis — what changes when the heel has to survive a run.
- Best walking shoes for plantar fasciitis — the same problem at walking speed, where the rocker matters more.
- Best tennis shoes for plantar fasciitis — lateral load, and why a running shoe is the wrong court shoe.
- Best shoes for stress fractures — what a shoe has to do at each stage of healing, and the fractures that do not get a shoe at all.
Browse every shoe on file or read how we test.
Buying it for heel pain? We checked the maximum-cushioning premise against what has actually been measured about cushioning and plantar heel pain — including the trial that went the other way: is the ASICS Gel-Nimbus 28 good for plantar fasciitis?
Compare it with the rest: every ASICS review · the shoes for achilles tendinitis · the shoes for plantar fasciitis · the shoes for wide feet · everything for running · everything for walking · the extra-wide fittings · the narrow fittings · the wide fittings. Every list shows the published drop, stack, weight, widths and price side by side.
This page is a spec analysis, not a test report: the figures are the manufacturer’s or a named third party’s, each printed beside its source, and nothing here carries a score or the Seal until the shoe has been worn and measured on our bench. Quote any figure you like — keep the source attached to it, and link the page rather than the number. How to cite or link to an analysis.