Buying guide

Best Shoes After a Walking Boot: The CAM Boot Transition

Coming out of a CAM boot? What the gait research shows about the limp it creates, why a shoe balancer matters while you are still booted, and current shoes with published specs.

By Tom Biernacki, DPM, FACFASDouble board-certified foot & ankle surgeonUpdated 8 Sep 2026

Spec analysis — not yet tested · Published September 2026

Spec analysis — not yet tested. The shoes named here have not been through the Podiatrist Tested bench. Every figure is the manufacturer’s own published number, attributed by name; the reasoning about fit is clinical judgement on the published design, not our measurement; nothing carries a score or the seal. How we test →

A CAM walker boot is a tall, stiff, thick-soled thing strapped to one leg. The other leg is wearing whatever shoe you own. That mismatch is the whole story of this page — because for as long as you wear the boot you are walking on two legs of different lengths, and your hips, knees and lower back are quietly paying for it. Then the boot comes off and you have a second problem: a stiff, weak, swollen foot that needs a shoe, and no clear guidance on what kind.

Both problems have decent published answers. Neither is well covered anywhere you are likely to look, which is why this page exists.

The boot is doing measurable damage to your gait

This is not a matter of opinion; it has been measured in a gait laboratory. A 2025 study in Foot & Ankle Orthopaedics put 30 healthy adults through 3D motion capture and force plates in three conditions — normal shoes, CAM boot, and CAM boot plus a one-inch lift on the opposite foot. In the boot alone, walking speed fell from 1.20 m/s to 1.01 m/s, step width widened from 0.16 m to between 0.20 and 0.22 m, and single-support time lengthened from 0.42 s to 0.49 s. Hip flexion on the booted side dropped 17 per cent and knee flexion 7 per cent.

Separately, a gait-laboratory study group at the University of Florida’s Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine reported that the boot increased knee flexion on the booted limb by about 5.9° in stance and 10.4° in swing, while on the other limb it reduced ankle dorsiflexion by roughly 2.4°, knee flexion by 2.9° and hip flexion by 2.7°. In other words the boot changes how both legs move, not just the injured one.

And the consequence is exactly what you would predict. A study of 46 patients wearing CAM walker boots reported that a substantial majority developed pain that was new or worse than their baseline, most often in the lower back, the opposite hip and the knee on the booted side, and that for a meaningful proportion this secondary pain was still present months after the boot came off. That last part is why this is worth addressing while you are still in the boot rather than afterwards.

A note on our own sourcing. We reached the 46-patient figures through a secondary summary rather than the original journal text, so we have described the pattern rather than quoting exact percentages. The two gait-laboratory findings above we read at source. We would rather give you a slightly vaguer sentence than a precise number we have not verified.

The fix while you are still booted is a shoe balancer, not a thicker shoe

The instinct is to wear your chunkiest trainer on the good foot. The evidence points somewhere more specific: a purpose-made lift that straps over the outside of your shoe.

In the 2025 study, adding a one-inch contralateral lift restored booted-side hip flexion and knee flexion to normal-walking levels, and normalised hip abduction, knee axial compression force and hip medial–lateral force. The Florida group, testing a named commercial balancer, similarly reported it normalised opposite-side ankle motion in stance and hip flexion on both sides.

It is not a complete fix, and the authors say so: the lift “has limited effect on other gait parameters and does not fully replicate the mechanics of normal shod walking.” Walking speed and step width barely improved. But restoring hip and knee mechanics is precisely the part that maps onto the back, hip and knee pain patients actually report.

This is not a fringe recommendation. Massachusetts General Hospital’s Achilles protocol prescribes a shoe leveller on the uninvolved side during the booted weeks, and the Illinois Bone & Joint Institute protocol calls for an “Adjust-a-lift, if needed, for uninvolved shoe while weightbearing in boot.”

What the products actually offer

Shoe balancers, as published

The category is real and established. The best-documented product publishes adjustable heights of ½ inch, ¾ inch or 1¼ inch in sizes S through XL, and 8 mm, 13 mm or 25 mm in its smallest sizes, across seven sizes fitting either foot, with removable top layers so you can reduce the height. A named retailer lists weights of 159 g, 176 g and 218 g for small, medium and large, and describes attachment by elastic straps with a hook-and-loop fastener and steel buckle over the toe of the shoe.

The gap worth knowing about: nobody publishes how much height a CAM boot actually adds. Both gait studies used a one-inch lift without quantifying the discrepancy they were correcting, and no boot manufacturer we could find states its sole thickness. So “one inch” is what has been tested, not a figure derived from your particular boot. If it feels like too much or too little, that instinct is as good as the published guidance.

Check price on Amazon (paid link)Amazon affiliate link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

One practical point that follows from the attachment method rather than from any study: the balancer straps over the outsole of your shoe, so a flat-ish, strap-friendly outsole seats better than a heavily rockered or sculpted one. That is our reasoning about the mechanism, not a published finding.

Coming out of the boot: weaning schedules, and how much they disagree

You do not stop wearing a boot. You wean out of it, because the foot and calf inside it have been deconditioning for weeks. Three published schedules:

Source Schedule Footwear guidance
Sports Foot & Ankle
(2-week wean)
Days 1–3: 1 hour morning + 1 hour evening. Days 4–7: 2 + 2. Days 8–11: 3 + 3. Days 12–15: 4 + 4. Day 16: out of the boot completely. “A supportive protective shoe (athletic or hiking boots).” Also: wean only after you are fully weightbearing, not at the same time.
Megan Wolf, MD
(4–6 week wean)
“Start by coming out of boot 1 hour per day while walking, this should be done around home initially. Increase this by 1 hour every 3 days.” Regular shoes outside the home once at 4–5 hours indoors. “Regular shoes” — type not specified.
Sport Doctor London
(2-week wean)
Days 1–4: 1 hour twice daily; 5–7: 2 hours twice; 8–12: 3 hours twice; 13–15: 4 hours twice; day 16 full transition. “Supportive shoes such as running trainers with good mid-foot support.” Avoid “poor supporting work shoes, sandals or flip-flops.” Aim for a 50 per cent reduction in your normal step count.
The same clinical event, scheduled at two weeks by two sources and four to six weeks by another. Your surgeon’s instruction is the one that counts.

What all three agree on: increase gradually, start indoors, and back off if pain rises. Sports Foot & Ankle puts a usable rule on it — if pain increases over a two-day period, slow the progression.

What the first shoes need to do

The brief

For the shoe you wear coming out of the boot

  • Supportive trainer, not a flat shoe. Every weaning protocol we found specifies an athletic, hiking or running shoe, and two of them explicitly rule out sandals and flip-flops.
  • Easy entry. Your ankle is stiff and has lost dorsiflexion; bending it to work a foot into a tight shoe is the daily friction that stops people wearing the right one.
  • Adjustable closure or a stretch upper. Swelling moves through the day, and expect more of it in the first weeks out.
  • Wide or extra-wide availability for the same reason.
  • Firm midfoot. “Good mid-foot support” is the one footwear property the weaning protocols name specifically.
  • Stability, because you have been deconditioning. Weeks in a boot mean calf and foot atrophy and lost balance. This is the reason to be careful with rocker soles here — more so than in most situations, because you have specifically not been practising balance.

Shoes whose published specifications fit

A limitation to state up front, because it shapes everything below: no mainstream brand publishes heel and forefoot stack heights on its US product pages, and none publishes the sample size its weights are measured at. Where a figure is missing below, we have written “not published” rather than estimating one. Some of the most genuinely useful shoes in this category — the adaptive and easy-entry brands — publish almost no numbers at all, and we have listed them as a category rather than pretend otherwise.

Easy entry, for a swollen and stiff foot

OrthoFeet Sprint Tie-Less

Drop 17.4 mm · 13.6 oz at size 9M · widths D, 2E, 4E, 6E · sizes 7–14 · stack not published. All OrthoFeet’s published figures.

Entry is “the pull of a discreet tab on either side of the shoe,” and OrthoFeet says the heel strap secures the fit “even with braces” — relevant if you are still using an ankle brace after the boot. Ships with an arch insert and spacers, so depth is adjustable. The same 17.4 mm drop appears across several OrthoFeet models, so read it as a platform figure.

Check price on Amazon (paid link)Amazon affiliate link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

OrthoFeet Edgewater

Drop 17.4 mm · 12.7 oz at 9M · widths D, 2E, 4E, 6E · stack not published.

Breathable stretch-knit upper — the better pick when swelling changes noticeably through the day, because the shoe changes with it. OrthoFeet describes a “rocker-inspired sole,” so factor in the balance point above.

Check price on Amazon (paid link)Amazon affiliate link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

OrthoFeet Lava

12.06 oz at 9M · widths D, 2E, 4E · drop not published on the product page · stretchable no-tie upper, “rocker-inspired sole.”

Same family, lighter, and the stretch upper without laces at all. We would rather flag that OrthoFeet does not publish a drop for this one than carry the 17.4 mm figure across from its siblings.

Check price on Amazon (paid link)Amazon affiliate link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

The supportive trainer the protocols describe

Brooks Ghost 18

Drop 10 mm · 10.2 oz / 289.2 g, sample size not stated · widths 1B, 1D, 2E, 4E · stack not published. Brooks publishes these only on its UK site.

If a protocol says “a supportive running trainer,” this is the shoe it is describing. Neutral, cushioned, available up to 4E, with enough heel volume to take a lift if your injury also needs one.

Check price on Amazon (paid link)Amazon affiliate link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

ASICS Gel-Nimbus 28 (Extra Wide)

Heel drop 8 mm · 281 g / 9.9 oz, sample size not stated by ASICS · sold as its own extra-wide product code · stack not published.

Worth singling out for the foot doing double duty — the uninjured side, which has been absorbing the asymmetry for weeks. Maximum cushioning in a genuinely wide fitting.

Check price on Amazon (paid link)Amazon affiliate link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

New Balance Fresh Foam X 1080v15

6 mm drop · 261 g / 9.2 oz · widths B, D, 2E, 4E — New Balance’s published figures. Stack not published.

The widest width range here in a soft neutral shoe. New Balance is one of the few brands that publishes drop on its own US pages, which is worth something when you are trying to compare like with like.

Check price on Amazon (paid link)Amazon affiliate link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

When you want the rocker anyway

HOKA Gaviota 6

Drop 6.00 mm · 10.25 oz · Regular, Wide, X-Wide · “Enhanced H-Frame,” stability rated “Moderate” by HOKA · stack not published.

A rocker sole reduces how much your ankle has to bend, which is appealing when the ankle is stiff. The catch is that rocker soles have a documented balance cost, and you have just spent weeks not practising balance. The Gaviota is the version of that idea with a stability frame attached, which is the compromise we would make. Walk it indoors first.

Check price on Amazon (paid link)Amazon affiliate link. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you; commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal. Price and availability change, so check the listing.

Adaptive and zip-entry shoes: real, useful, and unmeasurable

There is a whole category of footwear built for exactly this situation — swollen feet, limited reach, braces, post-operative dressings — and almost none of it publishes a single number. We are listing it because it is genuinely the right answer for some people, and labelling it honestly because we cannot give you specifications we do not have.

  • Zip-entry footwear (the best-known brand offers full-wrap, double, short-wrap and straight zip configurations, in medium, wide and extra-wide adult widths). The upper folds flat so the foot is placed in rather than pushed in. No heel height, drop or weight published anywhere.
  • Therapeutic diabetic footwear in widths from narrow through 5E and 6E, much of it in the A5500 reimbursable category. Genuinely the deepest and widest shoes available. No numeric specifications on the collection pages.
  • Expandable multi-panel shoes with engineered expansion zones at heel, midfoot and forefoot, marketed for mild to moderate swelling and positioned as an alternative to a post-operative shoe. No expansion measurement, heel height, drop or weight published.

One figure we will not calculate for you. Some walking-shoe brands publish a “heel height” and a “platform height” but no heel-to-toe drop. Subtracting one from the other looks like it gives you a drop. It does not — those terms are not defined that way by the brands using them, and the difference is not a published specification. If a shoe’s drop is not published, we say so.

Common questions

Do I really need a shoe balancer, or can I just wear a thick shoe?

A thick shoe has not been tested; a one-inch balancer has, twice, with measurable restoration of hip and knee mechanics. Balancers are also adjustable in known increments and removable, which a shoe is not. If the choice is between a balancer and nothing, the published evidence favours the balancer.

How much lift do I need?

Nobody publishes the answer, and that is a genuine gap rather than an evasion. No boot manufacturer we could find states how much height its boot adds, and both gait studies simply used one inch. Start at the height that makes your hips feel level when you walk, and use the removable layers to adjust.

Why does my back hurt more than my injured foot?

Because of the mechanism described at the top of this page. Lower back, opposite hip and same-side knee are the three sites patients most commonly report, and the boot’s effect on hip and knee motion is measurable in a gait lab. It is not in your head and it is not a sign the injury is worse.

Can I go straight from the boot into normal shoes?

None of the three published schedules says yes. They range from a two-week to a six-week wean, all starting with an hour or two indoors. The variation between them is large; the shape of the advice is identical.

My foot is a different size than it was. Which one do I buy for?

The swollen one, and prefer adjustability over a precise fit. A stretch upper or a strap system accommodates a foot that changes through the day; a snug lace-up fitted on a good morning will be unwearable by evening.

Should the shoe be the same on both feet once the boot is off?

Yes. Once you are out of the boot the goal is symmetry, which is the opposite of what you needed while you were in it.

Sources

  • Fanfan D, Lemus SA, Schnepp T, Murray D, Trynz S, Travascio F, Chapman CB. Impact of Contralateral Shoe Lifts on Gait Parameters and Mechanics When Wearing a Controlled Ankle Movement (CAM) Boot. Foot & Ankle Orthopaedics. 2025;10(4). — 30 participants; walking speed, step width, single-support time; hip and knee flexion restored by a 1-inch lift.
  • University of Florida Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine. Biomechanical analysis of gait in a walking boot (institutional research report). — degree-level kinematic changes in both limbs; effect of a contralateral foot lift.
  • Ready LV, Fisk E, Ciurylo W, Chiodo CP, Bluman EM, Smith JT. Associated Joint Pain With Controlled Ankle Movement Walker Boot Wear. JAAOS Global Res Rev. 46 patients. — pattern of new or worse pain at lower back, contralateral hip and ipsilateral knee, and its persistence. Accessed via a secondary summary; described qualitatively for that reason.
  • Sports Foot & Ankle. Two-week boot weaning protocol. — day-by-day schedule; supportive protective shoe; wean only after full weightbearing.
  • Megan Wolf, MD. Weaning out of boot protocol. — 1 hour/day increasing every 3 days over 4–6 weeks.
  • Sport Doctor London. Transition from walking boot to shoe. — two-week schedule; supportive trainers with mid-foot support; 50% step-count reduction; calf and foot atrophy.
  • Massachusetts General Hospital Foot & Ankle Service; Illinois Bone & Joint Institute. Achilles rupture protocols. — shoe leveller / Adjust-a-lift prescribed on the uninvolved side during booted weightbearing.
  • OPED Medical (manufacturer) and BraceAbility (named retailer). EVENup shoe balancer. — published heights, sizes, weights and attachment method.
  • Manufacturer product pages, September 2026: orthofeet.com (Sprint, Edgewater, Lava), brooksrunning.com (Ghost 18), asics.com (Gel-Nimbus 28 Extra Wide), newbalance.com (Fresh Foam X 1080v15), hoka.com (Gaviota 6).

Page type: spec analysis — not yet tested · No shoe on this page has been measured on our bench · All figures manufacturer-published and attributed · Last verified September 2026 · Reviewed by Dr. Thomas Biernacki, DPM

Measured, not guessed

Reviews for Walking

Individual shoe pages state their evidence tier, published measurements and who should skip them.

Dansko

Dansko XP 2.0

Spec Analysis

Occupational clog with a removable dual-density footbed and slip-resistant outsole — not yet tested.

$165Not scoredRegular and Wide by style
Orthofeet

Orthofeet Coral

Spec Analysis

Extra depth, published quarter-inch removable insole, four widths A–2E, 15.7 mm drop — not yet tested.

$119Not scoredW: A/B/D/2E
Skechers

Skechers GO WALK Arch Fit 2.0

Spec Analysis

Removable Arch Fit insole, hands-free entry, APMA Seal on some styles — not yet tested.

Not scoredStandard and Wide by style; X-Wide…

All Walking shoes

Measured, worn, scored — never sponsored

No brand has ever paid for a review, a score, a ranking or the seal. Where we earn a commission the link says so, and the score does not change.