We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, including Amazon links paid by brand partners through Levanta, at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money
HOKA Gaviota 6: A Podiatrist’s Analysis
Spec analysis — not yet tested
What this page is. A podiatrist’s reading of the manufacturer’s published specifications for the HOKA Gaviota 6. Nothing on this page has been measured, worn or scored by us yet. There is no score and no seal here on purpose: under our standard, a number only appears once a pair has been on the bench and on the road. When this shoe is tested, this page is replaced by the full review and the change is logged.
The Gaviota is HOKA’s most supportive shoe — the stability answer to the Bondi — and the one we reach for when a patient needs both a lot of foam and a lot of frame. The 6 launched on January 1, 2026 at $180. Here is what HOKA publishes, what it does not, and what a foot and ankle surgeon reads into the figures before the pair is measured.

On this page
What HOKA says the Gaviota 6 is
HOKA lists the Gaviota 6 as a maximum-cushion stability shoe for road running and walking, built on a compression-moulded EVA midsole with its Enhanced H-Frame™ “designed for superior stability support”, a MetaRocker geometry, an engineered-mesh upper with internal lacing and an abrasion-resistant rubber outsole. It is sold in Regular, Wide and X-Wide for men and women at $180. Unlike the Arahi and the Bondi, HOKA does not list the Gaviota 6 on its APMA Seal page.
HOKA Gaviota 6 specifications: heel-to-toe drop, stack height and weight
Source column tells you where each figure comes from. “HOKA” means the brand’s own US product page. A retailer name means the brand does not publish that figure and a retailer does. “Not published” means nobody reliable does — those are the figures our bench measures first.
| Specification | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Maximum-cushion stability, road running and walking | HOKA |
| Support system | Enhanced H-Frame™ in a compression-moulded EVA midsole; MetaRocker geometry | HOKA |
| Weight, men's | 10.25 oz / 291 g (size not stated); 10.0 oz at size 9 per Doctors of Running | HOKA |
| Weight, women's | 8.62 oz / 244 g (size not stated) | HOKA |
| Heel stack | Not published by HOKA. 39 mm | Doctors of Running (reviewer) |
| Forefoot stack | Not published by HOKA. 33 mm | Doctors of Running (reviewer) |
| Drop | 6 mm | HOKA |
| Midsole | Compression-moulded EVA with H-Frame | HOKA |
| Outsole | Abrasion-resistant rubber | HOKA |
| Upper | Engineered mesh with internal (ghillie) lacing | HOKA |
| Widths, men's and women's | Regular, Wide, X-Wide | HOKA |
| Removable insole | Not published | — |
| APMA Seal of Acceptance | Not claimed — HOKA’s APMA page lists Clifton, Bondi and Arahi, not the Gaviota | HOKA |
| List price | $180 | HOKA |
Figures checked September 6, 2026. Manufacturer pages: men’s · women’s.
What the spec sheet suggests — and what only a test can answer
This is the HOKA for the foot the Arahi is not enough for. Same H-Frame idea — a firmer layer of foam that supports both sides of the foot — but on a wider, heavier platform with more of it. In clinic that is the shoe we shortlist for a heavier patient with a flat, pronating foot who also wants HOKA-level cushioning, or for a post-injury foot that needs the ground to feel far away and stable at the same time.
Drop is the number that separates the Gaviota from the Arahi. HOKA lists 6 mm for the Gaviota 6 and 8 mm for the Arahi 8; a lab measured 7.3 and 11.3 mm. So a tight Achilles or a plantar fascia that likes a heel may still prefer the Arahi. The lab also measured the Gaviota lower than the figures reviewers quote: 36.0 mm at the heel and 28.7 mm at the forefoot, against 39 and 33 mm, so it is not the thick-forefoot shoe those figures suggest.
The rocker matters for stiff big toes. HOKA lists MetaRocker geometry on the 6. A rocker reduces how far the big-toe joint must bend at push-off, which is why rocker soles keep appearing in hallux rigidus and forefoot-arthritis recommendations. How much rocker, and whether the sole is stiff enough to deliver it, is a flex test, not a spec.
What only the test can answer: HOKA publishes no stack, no insole statement and makes no APMA claim for this model. Stack, torsional rigidity, heel-counter stiffness, toe-box dimensions in the Wide and X-Wide, and orthotic volume are all bench questions — and at $180 they are worth answering before you buy.
Who the HOKA Gaviota 6 is probably for
Read from the published specification, not from wear. Treat these as hypotheses the test will confirm or overturn.
- Flat, pronating feet that also want maximum cushioning — the most supportive shoe in HOKA’s road line.
- Heavier runners and walkers who need a wide, stable platform.
- Stiff-big-toe patients who benefit from a stiff forefoot and a rocker: in a lab bending test its forefoot was the eighth stiffest of the 35 shoes we review.
- Achilles or heel pain that prefers a higher heel — 6 mm is lower than the Arahi’s 8 mm.
- You want a light shoe — this is the heaviest HOKA stability option.
- You run custom orthotics — insole removability and volume are unpublished.
HOKA Gaviota 6: what changed from the previous version
HOKA does not publish a changelog. Doctors of Running’s review of the 6 describes an upgraded H-Frame for smoother guidance, the addition of MetaRocker geometry, internal ghillie lacing, a plusher collar, a more abrasion-resistant outsole and a shoe roughly 0.2 oz lighter than the Gaviota 5. The list price rose from $175 to $180. A lab has since measured both: under the same 6 mm label the 5 measured 2.2 mm of drop and the 6 measured 7.3 mm, and the 6 is a little narrower at the ball of the foot but still one of the widest shoes we review. Our Gaviota 5 vs 6 comparison sets out who should switch. No Gaviota 7 has been announced.
Where to buy
Disclosure: the links below are paid links. If you buy through them Amazon pays us a commission at no cost to you. Commissions never influence a score, a ranking or the seal, and this page carries no score because the shoe has not been tested — see our independence policy.
Amazon listings are colourway-specific; the button opens one common colourway and you can switch colour and width there. Manufacturer list price $180 on September 6, 2026; prices move, check the listing. Also sold directly by HOKA.
Questions people ask about the Gaviota 6
Is the HOKA Gaviota 6 a good shoe?
On the spec sheet it is the most supportive shoe HOKA makes: an upgraded H-Frame in a compression-moulded EVA midsole with MetaRocker geometry, three widths, 6 mm drop, and HOKA-published weights of 10.25 oz men’s and 8.62 oz women’s. Whether it is a good shoe for your foot depends on the reading below; whether it is good at all is what the bench and the wear test decide, and neither has happened yet.
What is the HOKA Gaviota good for?
Flat, pronating feet that also want maximum cushioning, heavier runners and walkers who need a wide stable platform, and forefoot-pain or stiff-big-toe patients who benefit from a thick, rockered forefoot. That is read from HOKA’s own description and the published figures, not from wear.
What shoes are similar to the HOKA Gaviota 6?
The other maximum-support shoes on this site as spec analyses: the Brooks Beast GTS 26 (the classic motion-control platform, 10 mm drop) and the Altra Paradigm 8 (a GuideRail on a zero-drop, wide-toe-box platform). Within HOKA, the Arahi 8 is the lighter stability option.
Which is better, the Gaviota 6 or the Clifton 10?
Different jobs. The Clifton 10 is HOKA’s neutral daily trainer; the Gaviota 6 is the maximum-support shoe for a foot that pronates. If nobody has told you that you overpronate, the Clifton is the lighter, cheaper choice; if you have flat, collapsing feet, the Gaviota’s H-Frame is the reason to pay more and carry more weight.
Is the HOKA Gaviota 6 a stability shoe?
Yes — HOKA’s maximum-cushion stability shoe, built around its H-Frame support system.
Gaviota 6 or Arahi 8?
Both are H-Frame stability shoes. HOKA positions the Gaviota as the more supportive shoe; it is heavier, and HOKA lists it at a 6 mm drop against the Arahi’s 8 mm. In the lab, though, the Arahi measured taller at the heel, better cushioned and a little stiffer to twist, and both drops came out higher than listed; the Gaviota was wider at the ball of the foot and had the firmer heel counter. Heavier runners and flat feet tend toward the Gaviota; lighter runners who want a livelier shoe toward the Arahi.
What is the drop of the Gaviota 6?
6 mm, per HOKA.
Does the Gaviota 6 come in wide?
Yes — Regular, Wide and X-Wide for both men and women, per hoka.com.
Do podiatrists recommend the HOKA Gaviota 6?
When a clinician wants HOKA’s cushioning and real medial support — a flat, pronating foot that also has heel or forefoot pain — the Gaviota is the model in the line that gets named. It is HOKA’s most supportive road shoe: H-Frame stability inside a maximum-cushion midsole, a 6 mm drop and a rockered geometry, at $180. The honest caveats are on this page. HOKA does not publish the stack heights, so the figures here are attributed to an independent source rather than the brand. HOKA lists a 6 mm drop, which would be a low heel for an Achilles referral; a lab measured 7.3 mm on a 36.0 mm heel. Podiatrist Tested has not tested this pair. A lab has since measured its torsional rigidity: 17.7 Nm, seventh of the 24 shoes we review with that test, which is what a collapsing arch wants.
What happens next
This page currently compares attributed published specifications. No original measurements or wear-test records are documented. Any future first-hand report would require retained photographs, measurement methods and wear notes. Our scoring and award programme remains an unvalidated proposal; no score or Seal follows automatically from a test. The Orthotic Volume Rating is also a proposed notation, not a recorded measurement for this shoe. Corrections to source information can be reported through the published contact route.
Page type: spec analysis. Acquisition: not yet purchased. Last verified: September 6, 2026. Author: Tom Biernacki, DPM, FACFAS — board-certified foot and ankle surgeon, about.
Other shoes we have looked at
Drop is the figure that decides how load splits between your heel and your forefoot, so it is the fastest way to tell these apart. Where a figure was independently measured rather than taken from the brand, it says so — and on several of these the two disagree.
Brooks Adrenaline GTS 24
A stated 12 mm drop — 13.5 mm when a lab measured it — with GuideRails working at the heel.
ASICS Gel-Kayano 32
Geometry-based guidance instead of a medial post, and a softer ride than the Adrenaline.
ASICS GT-2000 15
The lighter, cheaper stability option in the ASICS line.
Where this shoe fits
Guides on this site that weigh the HOKA Gaviota 6 against the problem you are actually trying to solve:
- Best shoes for overpronation — how much a shoe can really slow the inward roll.
- Best shoes for flat feet — how a collapsing arch changes what to look for.
- Best running shoes for flat feet — the running version, including the flexible-vs-rigid test.
- Best shoes for arch support — why midfoot rigidity holds an arch up and a foam bump does not.
- Best HOKA shoes for plantar fasciitis — how the HOKA line splits between cushion, stability and rocker.
- Best shoes for standing all day — what changes when you stand still rather than walk.
Browse every shoe on file or read how we test.
Compare it with the rest: every HOKA review · the shoes for flat feet · the shoes for hallux rigidus · the shoes for overpronation · everything for running · everything for walking · the extra-wide fittings · the wide fittings. Every list shows the published drop, stack, weight, widths and price side by side.
This page is a spec analysis, not a test report: the figures are the manufacturer’s or a named third party’s, each printed beside its source, and nothing here carries a score or the Seal until the shoe has been worn and measured on our bench. Quote any figure you like — keep the source attached to it, and link the page rather than the number. How to cite or link to an analysis.